Skip to main content

CMAT 101 Trenary: Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Video

Welcome

Reminder: the electronic resources that I have included within this guide can be accessed using the same SU Username & Password. that you use to log into Gullnet and MyClasses

As an online student, you have access to all of the electronic tools and resources that SU Libraries has to offer.

Library: A2 Annotated Bibliography

1.Research previous studies that focused on aspects of your research question. 
2.Each individual will develop an annotated bibliography discussing a minimum of one different study each.
3.For each study, you need to provide the following:
a. A full and correct APA citation for the article. 
b. A brief description of the purpose of the study, who/what was studied, how was the study conducted and what did they learn? 
c.  An explanation of how this article relates to your research question.

4.   Post your annotated bib in your group’s MyClasses file exchange.

Developing an annotated bibliography & an example entry

What's an annotated bibliography? 

Bibliography - A list of sources on a topic of interest. 

Annotated - When you make a note about something. 

Your CMAT 101 Annotated Bibliography is a list of the research articles that you have selected and each cited article in the list has its own annotation describing what it is and how it is useful. 

  • Your articles are cited using APA formatting, and these are typically listed in alphabetical order by an author's last name.
  • For each article, you write an "annotation," which is a paragraph or two that describes how the article is relevant to your topic; what purpose it serves --why you chose to use it and how you plan to use it to support your argument. 

 

Example entry for an APA Annotation Bibliography Speech on Politeness Theory

 

The APA Citation: 

Ebert, L. A., & Floyd, K. (2004). Affectionate expressions as fact-threatening acts: Receiver assessments. Communication Studies, 55, 254-270.

 

Your summary of the article should read something like this: This study applied politeness theory to the task of predicting receiver’s responses to affectionate messages from adult platonic friends. Results indicated that direct affectionate messages were the most supportive of positive face and also the most threatening to negative face, while indirect messages supported positive face and threatened negative face the least. The implications of these findings both for affection research and for politeness theory are discussed.

Your evaluation of the article should read something like this: This source will beneficial to me for this speech. It comes from a reputable source that is peer reviewed and provides some important definitions that will be good background information for my speech on the theory. However, it is meant to be an academic source, so I will need to adapt the information to suit my audience.

Contact me if you have questions

Library H3lp: 24-7 research assistance