What are books good for?
Every book has its time and place; when it comes to non-fiction works, here a couple varieties you may encounter:
- Reference: Provide topic overviews, guidelines, summaries, or definitions. These could be formatted like a textbook, or they might be similar to a dictionary or encyclopedia.
- Research: May be written in normal chapters, or they may resemble a thematic collection of research published by different authors. The authors may be presenting empirical research they conducted themselves (hint: you'll see methods, results, conclusions...), or they may have gathered others' research to explain and analyze in bulk, similar to a literature review.
Reference texts are great choices for getting a better feel for a topic (similar to using Google or Wikipedia to get started), but they won't be as effective as research texts when it comes to writing a paper and supporting your claim, argument, statement, etc.
Note: Just because a text is not in the "Reference Collection" of the library does not mean it isn't a "reference text". Some are labeled as such (with a REF sticker), but something closer to a textbook will not likely carry this label.
Find Books and eBooks
Refer to the General Search Strategies page for brainstorming search terms. Keep your search broad to begin with (1-3 words that describe your topic). Use the SU Libraries Quick Search below (also located on the SU Libraries home page).
- SU Libraries Search BoxUse the All Types or Books & eBooks tabs to search for books. You can also use the search box at the bottom of this page.
eBooks
Most eBooks are searchable through the SU Libraries All Types or Books & eBooks search boxes, just as with our print collection.
To find even MORE eBooks, try searching within the following two databases:
- Taylor and Francis E-Book Collection This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary collection of e-books from Taylor & Francis covering the following subject areas: China, Culture and Ethnicity, Ethics, Globalization, Human Rights, The Internet, Korea, Race and Ethnicity, Sexuality Studies, Social and Cultural Theory and Urban Studies.
- eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA collection of E-texts covering topics specifically chosen by Maryland Academic Libraries.
Print Books
Refer to the Print Book Locations details further down this page to determine where certain collections (Reference, Ready Reference, Folio Books, etc.) are located in the library.
- Call Number Locator MapUse this map to locate a book based on its call number. Make sure you select the correct collection (ie General Stacks, Folio, etc.) first.
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)If we don't have the book you need, request it through ILL. Books generally arrive in 5-7 business days. Follow the link above and scroll down to access/create your account.
If you would prefer to browse for books on a shelf, here are some recommended call number ranges for you.
CLASS H - SOCIAL SCIENCES
Subclass H Social sciences
HA Statistics Subclass
HB Economic theory. Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HD Industries. Land use. Labor
HE Transportation and communications
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
- Call Number Locator MapMap to show students the actual range their call number is in.
Select Books on Target Audience
The Complete Marketer by Call Number: HF5415 .M37953 2013ebISBN: 9780749466770Publication Date: 2013-05-03A source of hard intelligence about the marketing discipline, broken down into over 60 constituent chapters - including internet marketing, understanding consumers, market audits, segmentation, advertising and PR, and managing a sales team. It applies the authors' marketing know-how to every aspect of the marketing mix.
Marketing to Millennials by Call Number: HF5415.332.Y66 F76 2013ISBN: 9780814433225Publication Date: 2013-07-02"With more than 80 million in their ranks, the Millennials (aka Generation Y)--born between 1977 and 1995--are the largest generation in American history, outnumbering Generation X by far, and even the Baby Boomers by 1 million. Their direct buying power is estimated at $200 billion, and their indirect buying influence at least double that..."
Understanding digital marketing: marketing strategies for engaging the digital generation by Call Number: HF5415.1265 .R93 2017ISBN: 9780749478438Publication Date: 2016-11-28"Marketing expert Damian Ryan looks at the world of digital marketing: how it got started, how it got to where it is today and where the thought leaders in the industry believe it is headed in the future. This new edition demonstrates in a practical and comprehensive way how to harness the power of digital media and use it to achieve the utmost success in business..."
Consumer Behavior by Call Number: HF5415.32 .C6537 2017-18Publication Date: 2017First Floor - Reference Collection
Market research report summarizes current research on why consumers buy and how to influence their purchasing, based on data from U.S. retail market analysts, consumer behavior specialists and recent consumer survey results. The handbook presents insight on demographics, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, Gay & Lesbian, and Affluent consumer groups.
Gender, Culture, and Consumer Behavior by Call Number: HF5415.32 .G457 2012ISBN: 9781848729469Publication Date: 2012-03-21
Upside: Profiting from the profound demographics shift ahead by Call Number: HF5415.127 .G763 2017ISBN: 9780814434697Publication Date: 2017-04-13
