Physical Education: Internet Sources

Why a National Standard for Adapted Physical Education?
Federal law mandates free and appropriate public education services for all children with disabilities. Subsequently, the law mandated that these services be provided by “qualified professionals”. The definition of special education within this law included the discipline of physical education.
APENS was developed by members of the National Consortium for Physical Education and Recreation for Individuals with Disabilities (NCPERID --- Now called NCPEID) Individuals who wish to become Nationally Certified Adapted Physical Educators (CAPE) will find our Web site to be a valuable resource in accomplishing your goal.

The CIPR site provides descriptions, characteristics and educational implications of many specific diabilities. To find out characteristics of disabilities: Click on Disability>About Specific Disabilities>[a specific disability e.g. Autism]). In many cases it includes numbers of people afflicted. It also allows you to search individual state resources for a particular disability (i.e. Maryland).

IWAS was formed in 2004 following the amalgamation of International Stoke Mandeville Wheelchair Sports Federation and the International Sport Organisation for the Disabled. As the original founders of the Paralympic Games movement, IWAS has continued to provide its 65+ international members with competition and sporting opportunities to physically impaired athletes in maintaining its vision to "Inspire Worldwide Achievements in Sport".

The mission of the National Center on Physical Activity and Disability (NCPAD) is to promote substantial health benefits that can be gained from participating in regular physical activity. This site lists and defines numerous disabilities and contains info on sensory, social and behavioral considerations when working with a person with a particular disability. For each disability it provides exercise guidelines and physical activity schedules, and more.

The mission of NCPEID is to promote research, professional preparation, service delivery, and advocacy of Physical Education for individuals with disabilities. “Links & Resources” (at top) will provide you an assortment of links to organizations, disability information, disability data (even by county), etc.

P.E. Central bills itself as the "premier site for health & physical education teachers, parents and students". Its goal is to provide the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children. Includes over 1800 lesson plans. It also has assessment tips and a section on Adapted Physical Education, among other features.

This website gives statistics of those disabled by race, age, and general disability categories such as hearing, visual, cognitive etc., but not by specific disability such as Cerebral Palsy, Epilepsy, etc.

Miscellaneous U.S. Census statistics on disabilities.

Provides county & district level information on disabilities. It is currently based upon the 2000 Census, so the data is dated.

The Association for Experiential Education (AEE) is a nonprofit, professional membership association dedicated to experiential education and the students, educators and practitioners who utilize its philosophy.

The purpose of OutdoorEd.com is to provide a rich community for professional outdoor and experiential educators to come together and share their knowledge, ideas, questions, and issues.

Tools for Human-Environment Transformation - a useful site for Experiential/Outdoor Education includes ideas for group activities and games. It covers theory and practice and also news in this field.