Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are copyright friendly resources?
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
An online collaborative encyclopedia providing global access to knowledge about biological life on Earth. All EOL content is licensed under Creative Commons (CC) licenses.
Digital Public Library of America
Letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and other resources from America's libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions
Digitized resources of Europe’s museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. Limit your search to "free re-use" or "limited re-use."
NYPL Digital Collections
Prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and other free resources
The Smithsonian Institution Archives
Recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to concerts, to radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by the Archive's users
Creative Commons licensed music
A list of web sites with Creative Commons-licensed music
Moving image archive
Digital movies ranging from full-length films to news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts
Vimeo: Creative Commons
Lets you find and post Creative Commons licensed videos
YouTube - Creative Commons Videos
After typing your search query in the search box at the top of any YouTube page, click the Filters drop-down menu below the search box and select Creative Commons.