Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources on artists
It's not always easy to find information on contemporary artists. Below are several ideas of resources that could be useful in your research:
- Artists' websites
- Gallery websites
- Hyperallergic- a forum for serious, playful, and radical thinking about art in the world today.
- There may be books published on your contemporary artist, or at least on the exhibitions they've been featured in
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This database covers all titles in “ProQuest Dissertations & Thesis Full Text” and in addition also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
Art in America
Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.
Journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.