When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Citation Chasing / Linking
Your search strategy might benefit from looking at related works once you've found a useful source.
SURF can easily show you articles that have bibliographic connections to other published works in a 'citation path', through red arrows in the article entry pointing up or down depending on what citation links it can find during surface-level searches. When citation chasing, this is either moving forward or backward from the original source.
If you want to do citation chasing yourself or don't seem to have luck finding connections in SURF and want to check more thoroughly, you can search for related article citations using:
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. It also provides cited reference searching.
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. When you search for the original article, you should see a link below the title and description that says "Cited by #" that you can click on to browse sources which have used it.
Medical Databases
-
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains articles on a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a comprehensive index for publications in psychology and related fields, containing more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations.
Music Reference Databases
-
Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new windowBrings together more than 17,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database featuring music dictionaries and encyclopedias.
-
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowContains more than 1,200 essays, entries by more than 700 expert contributors, and hundreds of audio examples of folk musics, in devotion to music research of all the worlds' peoples.
Multi-Subject Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
Journals
-
Medical Problems of Performing Artists
A peer-reviewed medical journal that provides a worldwide forum for professionals involved in practice and research related to performing arts medicine. Issued quarterly, it publishes information about the origin and nature, management, and rehabilitation of medical problems affecting musicians, dancers, vocalists, actors, and others, including anxiety, musculoskeletal injuries and overuse, finger and hand problems, voice and hearing problems, stress, eating disorders, and neuromuscular disorders. -
MTNA eJournal
The MTNA e-Journal is a peer-reviewed online-only journal that welcomes submissions from all areas of the music teaching profession.The MTNA e-journal is published four times a year by Music Teachers National Association: September, November, February and April. -
The American Music Teacher
Refereed journal that provides articles, reviews and regular columns that inform, educate and challenge music teachers and foster excellence in the music teaching profession.Published by the Music Teachers National Association.
