Students will try to:
Search subject specific databases to identify journal articles on a topic.
Request materials not owned by the library using Interlibrary Loan when warranted.
Search for sources using a citation or bibliography.
Critically evaluate sources based on disciplinary standards.
Cite sources using a citation style appropriate for the discipline if one exists.
Is it primary or secondary research?
History Databases
1. Do an exploratory search in JSTOR for : "women's suffrage."
2. Click Add Field and add "United States"
3. Add "property rights"
4. Limit to the last 16 years, from 2000 - 2016.
5. Sort by newest.
5. Export to RefWorks
Tip: Articles not available in full text are indicated with the
icon. Click the yellow Find It button to see if it is available in other SU Library databases. If not, you can always order through InterLibrary Loan.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Find an article using a citation using Citation Linker
As you discover sources that support your topic, review their sources in bibliographies, reference lists, works cited, etc. Search the journal title to see if any of our 141 databases index the journal. Then use the volume, issue, and page number to find the full text.
Your citation:
Cuordileone, K. (2000). 'Politics in an Age of Anxiety': Cold War Political Culture and the Crisis in American Masculinity, 1949-1960. Journal Of American History, 87(2), 515-545.
1. Search the jounal title. If it's not found, none of the library's databases have content from that journal.
2. In this case, JAH has content in several library databases. Use the article's citation info to know which database has the article.
3. Locate and export the article to your Easybib project. This is for practice only, so be sure to delete it when we're done.