Recommended Article Databases
To access the following databases from off-campus, you will need to log in using your SU username and password:
EDUCATION (Articles)
Education Source
ERIC
Physical Education Index
(Abstracts Only)
Primary Search
Professional Development Collection
TeachingBooks.net
Teacher Reference Center
(Abstracts Only)
Tests in Print (TIP)
COMAR Online
(Code of Maryland)
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
GENERAL (Articles)
Academic Search Ultimate
Humanities International Complete
JSTOR
MAS Ultra-School Edition
MasterFILE Premier
ProQuest Newspapers
PsycARTICLES
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
PsycINFO
SocINDEX with Full Text
DISSERTATIONS
American Doctoral Dissertations
EBSCO Open Dissertations
ProQuest Global Dissertations and Theses
ProQuest SU Dissertations & Theses
Recommended Guides
The following guides may prove useful as you begin your search for articles...
- Magazine VS JournalArticles from magazines and journals are an important information source for researchers. They generally contain more timely, current and up-to-date information than book resources. A savvy researcher will quickly understand that articles from magazines and articles from journals vary significantly in their academic (popular vs. scholarly) usefulness.
Choosing Effective Keywords
Try this exercise before you start searching for any materials on your topic...
Search for Articles Only
Google Scholar Search
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Recommended Journals
Social Education. National Council for the Social Studies
ACCESS: SU Libraries Subscription, 1938 - present
Journal of Social Studies Education Research
Association for Social Studies Educators (ASSE)
ACCESS: Directory of Open Access Journals, 2010-present
http://www.jsser.org/index.php/JSSER
