Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Information and History
Dramatists Play Service
"Search our catalogue of nearly 4,000 titles to purchase books and apply for rights." Good for browsing plays by award winners, author, title, musicals, and special collections. Remember you can always request the library to buy a play for you!
Internet Broadway Database
"IBDB provides a comprehensive database of shows produced on Broadway, including all "title page" information about each production. IBDB also offers historical information about theatres and various statistics and fun facts related to Broadway."
Jack Wolcott's Theatre History on the Web
"A Resource for Theatre Historians and Students of the Theatre's History. Maintained by Jack Wolcott (retired), University of Washington School of Drama." Links to resources arranged by time period and section of theatre (i.e. costume, lighting, etc.)
Theatre Communications Group
"Theatre Communications Group (TCG), the national organization for the American theatre, was founded in 1961 with a grant from the Ford Foundation to foster communication among professional, community and university theatres." While this is a member site there is also publicly available resources, including statistics, grants, education resources, and theatre profiles.
Theatre reviews from NYC (on- and off-Broadway), London, Philadelphia, California, Washington DC, New Jersey, Connecticut, and Berkshires.
"TheaterMania.com features comprehensive listings, news, reviews, interviews and video content." The link takes you to the reviews page, but you can also search major US cities directly, by clicking on "Other Cities" in the top menu .
Monologues searchable for men and women by dramatic, comedic, classical, playwright, and a specific quote. Does not include information about age or other character profile information.
The Monologue Database
Created and maintained by playwright Kellie Powell. Contemporary and Classic monologues for men and women. Most monologues are available in full, if not check our catalog or get the play from Interlibrary loan!
The Costume Page
A personal library of costume and costuming-related links. Contains links for multiple topics: history, folk, theatrical, Halloween, supplies, and more. Has not been updated since 2009.
Milieux Costume Site
"Use the drop down menu to the left to find images, inspiration, research, and tutorials for making it yourself. Also find sources for fx, armor, wigs, footwear, and accessories and more."
New York Public Library Digital Collections
"This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more." Great reference for costume and set design.
A glossary of over 1900 terms. Theatrecrafts.com is edited by Jon Primrose, Technical Manager at the University of Exeter Drama Department in the UK.
Thorne Miniatures Rooms from the Art Institute of Chicago
Images from the Art Institute's miniatures room. Great references for set design, although it can be challenging to search.
We Wear Culture
"With GA&C, the Google Cultural Institute, the technology giant’s not-for-profit foundation, has delivered the internet’s newest, most glamorous time suck. The project, titled *We Wear Culture*, is a massive, magnificent digital archive that traces the world’s sartorial history. Partnering with 184 institutions (from the V&A in London and MoMA in New York to Border & Fall in Mumbai and Balenciaga in Italy), it’s got 50,000 photos (700 of which are ‘gigapixel’) and over 400 exhibitions, digitised and filed away for posterity, available for your deep-diving pleasure."
An online encyclopedia about musicals created by John Kenrick, author and adjunct faculty member in New York. Especially useful for histories.
PBS Broadway: The American Musical
While this site, which was created for a film series by PBS, is no longer actively maintained, it has some great features, like a timeline and essays, among others.
Folger Shakespeare Library
"Home to the world's largest Shakespeare collection and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art, the Folger serves a wide audience of scholars, visitors, teachers, students, families, and theater- and concert-goers." The "Shakespeare" tab in the menu is a particularly good resource for information about the man himself and his works.
MIT's Global Shakespeares
An Open Access video and performance archive. "The MIT Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field."
The CRAAP test is just one method for determining what kind of quality a resource is. It's useful for all resources, but especially so for anything you find outside of the scholarly world.