Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology: Find Articles

Anthropology Databases

Because information relevant to cultural anthropology may be found in the literature of other disciplines, it is important to use several databases that seem likely to contain your topic.  

 

SU Libraries owns many databases that are relevant to the area of anthropology.  The full list of these databases is below, or you may sort them by broad category by simply clicking on the category name to see only those relevant databases.  

 

 

All        Multidisciplinary          Historical       Communication       Women's Issues      


Environmental    Newspapers    Psychology    Social Sciences

 

  

   

Academic Search Complete :  (This multi-disciplinary database provides more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.)

America: History and Life (Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.)

Communication & Mass Media Complete (Full text and abstracts for numerous journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields.)

Contemporary Women's Issues

Early American Imprints, 1639-1800 (Definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, etc.)

Environmental Health Perspectives  (Monthly journal of peer-reviewed research and news on the impact of the environment on human health.)

Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Historical Documents Series (CQ Press: Primary documents)

Historical London Times (Times Digital Archive 1785-1985)

Historical New York Times (1851-2006, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge, Millennial Edition)

Historical Wall Street Journal (1889-1992, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Historical Washington Post (1877-1993, Current coverage at Newspapers National)

Humanities International Complete (Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources.)

JSTOR (Collections for Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, VII, and Life Sciences)

Lexis-Nexis Academic (Research in the social sciences using primary sources, news, government information, statistics, business, and legal sources.)

MasterFILE Premier (Popular interest publications for public library patrons.)

PsycARTICLES (Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.)

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (This database provides coverage of nearly 550 full-text journals, including more than 500 peer-reviewed titles. It covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, and mental processes.)

PsycINFO (Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.)

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Ian Post
Contact:
430A Academic Commons (Nabb Center)
Subjects: Anthropology, History