Analysis and Arguments
Ideally, you will be looking at a particular object of study (in this case, a particular conflict) and asking questions about the scholarship already done on that object. You might be disagreeing with the scholarship or you might be furthering an idea already in play. Below are databases where you can find scholarly articles that might be able to use to analyze your object of study.
Tutorial: looking for journal articles
Databases to Search for Journal Articles
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
PRO TIP: Subject Searching
A good way to refine your search is to use the subjects provided by the database. Here is an example of the subjects in Academic Search Ultimate for a search using the keywords <conflict analysis>.
You will only see the top six, so make sure to click on the show more link to see all of the subjects provided. The number next to the subject indicates how many articles in your results set are tagged with that subject term.
Find It Button
WHAT DOES THAT CUTE LITTLE FIND IT BUTTON DO, ANYWAY?
It's a bit like magic, really. The Find It button does three things:
- Looks in all of our databases to see if the document you want is available full-text in another of our databases. If so, it links you to it!
- Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want in print or microform.
- Links you to ILLiad (interlibrary loan account) so you can borrow the item from another library if we don't have access electronically or in print.
The Find It Button is YOUR FRIEND!!!