Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Military Science: Find Articles

Databases -What Are They?

The library databases are electronic platforms of searchable collections of articles (and sometimes books) on a variety of topics.
The library pays a lot of money to subscribe to these databases and most of the articles found in our databases are not available for free on the internet.

 Another advantage of using library databases is that it is often much easier to find scholarly articles in the library databases than searching for them on the web. There are many good sources found on the web, but there is also a lot of junk!  If you use unreliable sources for your papers your grades will likely suffer!

So searching library databases, instead of  just using Google, can often lead you good sources on your topic. (NOTE:  Not all articles in our databases are full text, buy many are, and those that aren't can be gotten through our Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL).

 

Find It Button

 

  WHAT DOES THAT FIND IT BUTTON DO, ANYWAY?

It's a bit like magic, really.  The Find It button does three things:

·         Looks in all of our databases to see if the document/article you want is available full-text in another of our databases.  If so, it links you to it!

·         Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want in print or electronically.

·         Links you to Direct Borrowing and ILL (interlibrary loan) accounts, so that  you can borrow the items from other libraries if we don't have access to them either electronically or in print. The priority is to 1) find what you need in our library 2) expand your search to the USMAI (Direct Borrowing) and 3) expand your search to ILL.  

The Find It button is YOUR FRIEND!!!

 

STEP BY STEP GUIDE FOR SEARCHING FOR ARTICLES

Click on the following LINK to access a Step by Step Guide on how to search for an article in one of our databases

DATABASES TO SEARCH FOR ARTICLES ON MILITARY HISTORY/MILITARY SCIENCE

 

Databases

Most military journal articles can be accessed from direct links to online journals on the web, (click on this link), but the following SU databases may yield articles on your topic:

MILITARY Oriented Database

Military and Government Collection Current news of all branches of the military

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GENERAL Databases

Academic Search Ultimate  Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.

ArticleFirst Indexes articles on business, science, humanities, social sciences, medicine, technology, and popular culture

J-STOR  This database is a general database with the advantage that most of its journals go back to the first published issues which in effect make it a good place to research history over a broad spectrum of topics. Essentially all full text scholarly articles. NOTE: There is often a lag time to each issue, meaning that the latest new/topics may not be covered.  

MasterFILE Premier Popular interest publications for public library patrons

Science Direct  Scientific database on physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities. Many full text articles. Also indexes books on the above topics. ALSO includes full text articles from the journal "The Leadership Quarterly" which covers the topics  Complexity Leadership Theory (CLT) and Complex Adaptive Systems (CAS)

 

NEWSPAPER Databases

Baltimore Sun (1990 - current)
Christian Science Monitor (1988 - current)
New York Times (1980 - current)
Wall Street Journal (1984 - current)
Washington Post (1987 - current)

NOTE: Older coverage of four of these national newspapers can be found individually under the historical newspaper section (see below)

USA.gov U.S. government information; menu and keyword searching

HISTORY Oriented Databases

America: History and Life Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present

America's Historical Newspapers Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876

Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985), For current coverage, see Newspaper Databases list above)

Historical Documents Series (CQ Press: Primary documents)

Historical New York Times (1851-2006, For current coverage, see above)

Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge, Millennial Edition)

Historical Wall Street Journal (1889-1992, For current coverage, see above)

Historical Washington Post (1877-1993, For current coverage, see above)

JSTOR (Go to Advanced Search) Collections for Arts & Sciences I, II, III, This database is not a historical database, per se, but many of the journals covered go back to the first published issues which in effect make it a good place to research history over a broad spectrum of topics. Essentially all fulltext. MAKE A NOTE OF THIS WEBSITE FOR HISTORICAL RESEARCH (eg. try "Rolling Thunder" and Vietnam)

NewsBank: Archive of Americana This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817 - Collection of primary source material detailing all aspects of American history (search Armed Forces and Conflicts). Note: The entire set has not been digitized, only portions of it.    Documents before 1817 may be found in the American State Papers.

Librarian

Stephen Ford's picture
Stephen Ford
Contact:
OFFICE: Conway Hall 226 G
PHONE: 410-677-4602
EMAIL: saford@salisbury.edu