Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To Google or Not to Google!
Why should you use the library databases and not Google to find articles?
Most of the time, scholarly publications are not available to the general public, nor are they available for free on the internet. Individuals or organizations (such as a library) subscribe to these publications. Because subscriptions are expensive, many choose to access this content through libraries.
Often, content from scholarly journals is indexed in databases that the library subscribes to. The content is on the web, but it is not accessible unless you are affiliated with the institution that is subscribing. It isn’t the same thing as just finding a website through a regular Google search. Sometimes the full text of the article is available through the database; other times it is only a citation to the article and you will need to find the print version of the article in the library or order the article through interlibrary loan if we don’t subscribe to it.
So, basically what I'm saying is that the only way you can access this scholarly information for free is by using the library databases!
Provides the MEDLINE database indexing free to the public through the National Library of Medicine. Sometimes provides full text of articles or links to low cost purchase options for some articles.
Quick Start Guide
How to search PubMed.
PubMed Online Training
Tutorials and Quick Tours of PubMed searches by the National Library of Medicine.
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe. Europe PMC is developed by EMBL-EBI. It is a partner of PubMed Central and a repository of choice for many international science funder.
Quick Start Guide
Databases to search for journal articles & literature
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) covers over 1600 professional journals in nursing and allied health. It also includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This database provides access to journals, healthcare books and book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice. CINAHL covers the fields of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Time span is from 1982 to present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database includes nearly 600 scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health. 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles. Includes full text from titles such as: Creative Nursing; Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Journal of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner; & Clinical Pharmacology. About 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted only. FindIt links may go to full text of articles from other databases. Items not available in the library or electronically may be requested through interlibrary loan.
MEDLINE with Full Text
The MEDLINE database provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and in 70 foreign countries. MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning, and health care services administration.
Nursing and Allied Health Source
The Nursing and Allied Health Source database provides access to the full text of articles in over 400 premier nursing journals and related publications. Scholarly research published in nursing and related fields is included. Time span is 1988 to present.
Science Direct provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. This database includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Coverage includes topics related to health sciences and nursing. Full text begins in 1995 or later.
Up To Date
UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 5,100 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. These authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. This database is useful to practitioners and students in clinical training.
Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science database provides seamless access to the Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. This database provides access to full-text of some journals and links for others. Web of Science provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Cited reference searches help users navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to their research.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume 1
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Volume I is a classic collection of videos filmed between 1985 and 2010, providing faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This collection provides a through grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses.
SU Nursing Writing Manual