Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Nursing, Health Sciences, and Medical Topics through Research Port
Find SU databases listed by subject and by title. Search library databases to find journal articles and other information sources on a topic. Some journal articles are available in full-text through the database or through FindIt links.
Research Port Provides access to SU databases from on-campus and from off-campus sites.
Find trials for a specific medical condition or other criteria in the ClinicalTrials.gov registry.
Databases for Nursing & Health Sciences
Descriptions of databases for research in nursing and related fields.
CINAHL Plus with full text (EBSCO)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) covers over 1600 professional journals in nursing and allied health. It also includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.
This database provides access to journals, healthcare books and book chapters, dissertations, conference proceedings, and standards of practice. CINAHL covers the fields of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. Time span is from 1982 to present.
The Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews provide evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. The Cochrane Library consists of seven databases and is used by a broad range of people interested in Evidence-Based Health Care, including consumers, clinicians, policy-makers, researchers, educators, students and others.
UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 5,100 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. These authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence. This database is useful to practitioners and students in clinical training.
MEDLINE with full text (EBSCO)
The MEDLINE database provides abstracts and indexing using Medical Subject Headings (MESH) for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and in 70 foreign countries. MEDLINE covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, psychiatry, pre-clinical sciences, medical education and health care planning, and health care services administration.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
This database includes nearly 600 scholarly full text titles covering nursing and allied health. 450 of these are peer-reviewed titles. Includes full text from titles such as: Creative Nursing; Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing; Community Health Nursing; Journal of Nursing Management; Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner; & Clinical Pharmacology. About 400 more titles are indexed and abstracted only.
Nursing and Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
The Nursing and Allied Health Source database provides access to the full text of articles in over 400 premier nursing journals and related publications. Scholarly research published in nursing and related fields is included. Time span is 1988 to present.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Trip has been online since 1997 and in that time has developed into the internet’s premier source of evidence-based content. Our motto is ‘Find evidence fast’ and this is something we aim to deliver for every single search.
As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Science Direct provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. This database includes extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Coverage includes topics related to health sciences and nursing. Full text begins in 1995 or later.
Web of Science
The ISI Web of Science database provides seamless access to the Science Citation Index Expanded®, Social Sciences Citation Index®, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index™. It enables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,500 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. This database provides access to full-text of some journals and links for others. Web of Science provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. Cited reference searches help users navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover information relevant to their research.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines developed or revised within the last 5 years.
NGC provides structured, standardized summaries containing information derived from guidelines using the NGC Template of Guideline Attributes.