Library databases for film scholarship
In the databases below, you can get results for criticism articles by searching the title of your film and limiting to Peer Reviewed journals (with the exception of JSTOR, which contains all peer-reviewed journals.)
Let's practice a database search:
- Open Academic Search Ultimate database.
- Click on the name of this database. Select All.
- Search "Adjustment Bureau." This produces 588 results.
- Limit to Peer Reviewed. This produces 24 scholarly journal articles.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowOffers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
-
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new windowDesigned specifically for public libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals back to 1975, provides nearly 500 full text reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and a 592,000 photo Image Collection.
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from around the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
Searching JSTOR
- Open JSTOR and type "adjustment bureau" in the Terms box. This produces 400 results.
- The first result in the list is a scholarly book source with one chapter about The Adjustment Bureau. In the book, this chapter appears on pages 213-240.
- Click on Back to Results. Limit to Journals. Notice that reviews are also published in Journals, but they are not considered scholarship.
-
JSTOR (including ARTSTOR) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to a broad range of resources about the humanities, sciences, and social sciences, including primary sources, images, articles, and books. Does not contain the most recent journal articles.
Google Scholar
A lot of articles are paywalled, but you can increase your chances to find full text articles by making Google Scholar display articles that are available in full text through SU Libraries! Here's how:
- Navigate your way to Google Scholar and look for the three-bar "stack" in the upper left hand corner. This is where you will find the Settings option.
- Under Settings, choose the Library links option. This will open up a new window with an empty box in it. In that box, type in Salisbury University, and then hit the 'search' button.
- Once you have done that, two additional checkbox options will appear below the search box - both listing options for Salisbury University. Check them both off, then hit Save.
Now you are good to go! Now, you will see any full-text links that are available through SU Libraries linked to the right of the article title, and clicking on that right-hand link will take you to the SU login/SU-provided full text access!
Hit a paywall? Use InterLibrary Loan to get it.
-
Interlibrary LoanNeed to get an article that we don't have at SU? Request it through Interlibrary Loan! Most articles are fast and free, opening up the amount of research articles you're able to get.
