Find films using WorldCat Discovery
Use the library catalog to find films regardless of format. Mostly, this collection will be comprised of DVDs.
Let's practice by searching for Thelma & Louise in the embedded Worldcat Discovery box below to search our collection.
1. Search Thelma & Louise and select the Video/Film limiter.
2. This film shows up first in the list of results. Note the film's Location. You can also click the title to open the record to see more information. This and others that are part of the Film Studies Permanent Reserve Collection can be checked out at the Library Services Desk on the first floor.
Search Schindler's List. The holdings info says it's in the General DVD Collection on the first floor.
Search for the film titled Breakfast at Tiffany's.
Again, under Format, limit to Video.
If we owned it, the film would be ranked at the top. Use the drop menu Sorted By: Best Match.
Click into the record for Millions Like Us, and see the button Request Item through Interlibrary Loan.
Kanopy and Swank films databases
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. Chrome and Firefox are recommended browsers for viewing films from the Kanopy database. Faculty only may request individual films for teaching purposes.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
provides access to licensed movies from major motion picture studios to non-theatrical markets such as schools, college and universities. Chrome and Firefox are recommended browsers for viewing films from the Swank database.