Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In the research process: ARTICLES
1. Explore topic context & primary sources (the open web)
2. Learn the background (library catalog: books)
3. Discover scholarly conversations
(library databases: journal articles)
4. Support your argument (source citation)
5. Rinse, repeat; drafts & revisions (research librarians, writing center)
Searching Library Databases
Searching in Academic Search Ultimate
= 100,00+ sustainability
= 337 college campus
3. Narrow further by adding:
= 138 program
4. This list contains newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Decide whether or not to LIMIT results to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
5. Let's review the an article's record and tools.
6. Search your own topic. Find a potentially useful article, and add the citation to RefWorks.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
Which strategy below best describes the "broad-to-narrow" search strategy used with search engines?
Type all of the keywords I can think of in the search box.: 0 votes (0%)
Type a complete sentence that broadly describes my topic and is free of grammatical errors in the search box: 0 votes (0%)
Use keywords that broadly describe my topic to get a good number of relevant results, and then add a few new keywords to get more specific results.: 7 votes (58.33%)
Use the most specific keywords that precisely describe my topic.: 5 votes (41.67%)
Total Votes: 12
When I use a database to automatically create my citation, I need to:
Double-check the citation to make sure it's accurate.: 9 votes (75%)
Export the citation to my email.: 0 votes (0%)
Export the citation to RefWorks.: 3 votes (25%)
I don't need to do anything. It's perfect!: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 12
Differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals