Databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPhilosopher's Index, produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
- Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
Case 9: PreCrime, Inc.
Summary
Do predicative police algorithms and collected data prevent crime or infringe on the public's rights?
Case Document
Potential Keywords
- police
- hotspotting
- Predictive policing
Articles to Get You Started
- Prospective Hot-Spotting: The Future of Crime Mapping?The item expands upon the methods and procedures of crime mapping and hotspot identification
- Predictive police patrolling to target hotspots and cover response demand.It refers to a major drawback of implementing predictive policing, funding. It also mentions ways to make this new style of policing more efficient in terms of accuracy and funding.
- Race science and surveillance: police as the new race scientists.This article explores the relationship of race in predictive policing, and examines the idea of scientific racism. It calls upon the evidence from NYPD's stop and frisk program from 2003.
Case 11: It's for Your Own Good
Summary
What information, especially digital, do universities have the right to collect and utilize on their students?
Case Document
Potential Keywords
- student privacy
- college campus
- universities
Articles to Get You Started
- Practical implications of implementing a unit record system on a community college campus.The article discusses the impact of implementing a record system in colleges, by examining how it can affect a student's privacy and security.
- Student privacy in learning analytics: An information ethics perspective.It is an article about the ethical implications of collecting student data in order to improve student learning. I think it us useful because it talks a lot about the ethical side of data collection and whether or not the pros of improving curriculum out-weights the cons of invading student's privacy without their knowledge.
Case 16: The Devil Made Me Think It
Summary
New technologies contribute to a deep distrust for authorities like mainstream media and the government.
Case Document
Potential Keywords
Articles to Get You Started
Case 17: They Sure Don't Fake 'Em Like They Used To
Summary
As technology evolves so does cheating and plagiarism in universities assignments.
Case Document
Potential Keywords
- Plagiarism
- Academic Integrity
- Cheating
Articles to Get You Started
Books
Crime Prevention: A Critical Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781446251317Publication Date: 2011
Predictive Policing by ISBN: 9780833081551Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Alternative and Mainstream Media by ISBN: 9781849665438Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Perspectives on Plagiarism and Intellectual Property in a Postmodern World by ISBN: 9780585075518Publication Date: 1999-01-01
