Databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowPhilosopher's Index, produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher’s Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
- Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides company, industry, and geopolitical macroeconomic market research from three sources: (1) Hoover's Company Profiles, which offers information on 40,000 global public and non-public companies including location, summary financials, and competitors, (2) OxResearch, which covers significant economic and political developments from Oxford faculty; and (3) Snapshots Series, which includes market research overviews on over 40 industries and 40 countries.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowCommunication & Mass Media Complete, CMCC, incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 326 journals.
Case 2: Advertising Goes Native
Summary
The ethical dimensions of editorial pieces being paid for by third parties to promote or sponsor a certain point of view.
Case Document
Potential Keywords
- Biased reviews
- Paid ads
- impact
- social media
Articles to Get You Started
- Positive Word of Mouth Marketing: Explaining the Roles of Value Congruity and Brand LoveThis article focuses on companies marketing their products. The article mentions how companies often feel they have to pay to get positive word of mouth to benefit the sales of their products. But more importantly it looks at how the value of congruence, brand love, and brand image all affect a company which draws most companies to pay for positive reviews on their products. Wanting to strive in all these areas makes the companies desperate to have costumers purchase their products.
- Assessment of publication bias and outcome reporting bias in systematic reviews of health services and delivery research: A meta-epidemiological study.The article talks about how bias in reviews on health services and research mentions if they are bias and if reviews discuss how being bias impacts their view. They find that bias needs to be mentioned in more articles to make readers aware and that more reviews need to work on not being so bias.
- Integrative Review of Recruitment of Research Participants Through Facebook.In this article the advertisement of ads trying to recruit participants for research often lack mentioning whether or not they are a paid ad when they pop up on a persons feed.
Case 3: Gamers and Their Gals
Summary
The demeaning sexualization of women and LGBTQIA+ in rpgs and the effect of the damaging and demeaning stereotypes.
Case Document
Potential Keywords
- Sexualization
- Women
- Video Games
Articles to Get You Started
- Sexting Panic: Rethinking Criminalization, Privacy, and Consent, Chapter 4 "Sexualization and participation"Sexualization of women and why it is so normalized
Case 4: Balanced Reporting or Balanced Reporters?
Summary
Is there a conflict in journalists expressing partisan opinions, promotion of political views, or candidate endorsements on their own time and in social media?
Case Document
Potential Keywords
- Journalism/Journalist
- Objectivity
- Partisan
- Social Media
Articles to Get You Started
- Managing Social Media Use: Whither Social Media Guidelines in News Organizations?Fears exist that social media use by news media and journalists may affect basic journalistic tenets such as objectivity, gatekeeping, and transparency. As a result, more and more news media organizations are issuing guidelines to manage employee use of social media.
- When Citizens andJournalists Interact on Twitter Expectations of Journalists' Performance on Social Media and Perceptions of Media Biashis study examines how expectations about journalistic practices on social media influence audience engagement with journalists, and in turn, perceptions of editorial bias.
- News Decisions: Journalists as Partisan ActorsDescribes the relationship between journalists' personal beliefs and their news decisions. Impact of partisanship on news decisions; Description of the news systems in five countries; Employment patterns of journalists; Nature of the journalists' work; Comparison of the influence of partisanship on newspaper journalism and on broadcast journalism.
Case 8: "Just" discrimination?
Summary
The International Association of Athletics Federations has a regulation requiring a world class female athlete to lower her natural level of testosterone in order to compete in her field.
Case Document
Potential Keywords
Articles to Get You Started
Case 14: Sisyphus Achievement Awards
Summary
The business world, specifically Disneyland Resort Hotel, has introduced gamification into their workplace environments, using competition to increase productivity.
Case Document
Potential Keywords
Articles to Get You Started
Books
The Invention of Journalism Ethics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0773528113Publication Date: 2006-04-13
