Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
+In the research process: ARTICLES
1. Explore (casual web searching)
2. Background (library catalog: books)
3. Scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
4. Support arguments (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & Writing Center)
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Large range of consumer health information/topics. Full text of nearly 300 periodicals such as: Harvard Health Letter, Prevention, Tufts, Johns Hopkins, Vegetarian Times, Women's health Weekly. Also includes a wide range of full text health related pamphlets and reference books, patient education fact sheets from sources such as: People's Medical Society, A.D.A.M., A.A.R.P and Society Publications
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Please note that this publisher is offering EXPANDED CONTENT through June 30, 2023.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities. For a LIMITED TIME, Elsevier is making all of their textbooks available at no charge, as well as 20,000 free articles.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper
Christian Science Monitor This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Christian Science Monitor newspaper
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper, the New York Times Book Review, and the New York Times Magazine.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper
Historical Baltimore Sun This link opens in a new window
Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1985. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context. Print and download articles and images in PDF format.
Historical New York Times This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.
Archive of Americana (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window
This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries. Includes: America's Historical Newspapers 1690-1876, American State Papers, 1789-1838, Early American Imprints 1639-1800, and U. S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Identifying Primary Vs. Secondary Research Articles
Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals
Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List