Primary Source Analysis Worksheets
During our primary source session, each student will complete one primary source analysis worksheet for the collection their group has chosen. Please check the type of document (written, photograph, poster/cartoon, or artifact) and complete the associated worksheet.
Ledgers of Bootmaker William F. Robinson, 1847-1872
William F. Robinson was a bootmaker from the Delmarva Peninsula during the mid-nineteenth century. Operating from Dorchester County, Maryland (1847-1854) before relocating to Sussex County, Delaware (1868-1872), these ledgers document Robinson's business transactions and customers.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2015.029
Ledger of Bonnet-maker Sarah M. Tarr, 1842-1850
This ledger transcription concerns the activities of Sarah M. Tarr, a bonnet maker in the 19th century. The ledger contains descriptions of work done, the name of the clients, dates, credits, and debits from 1842 to 1850.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/2014.125
Walston Brothers Produce labels, 1950-1960
Produce canning and packing labels from Salisbury, MD company.
2010.109
Produce canning and packing labels from Salisbury, MD company.
2010.109
Produce canning and packing labels from Salisbury, MD company.
2010.109
German Notgeld Notes
53 Stages of the Tokaido
- 53 Stages of the TokaidoThe Tōkaidō Road in Japan was among the Five Routes of the Edo period from 1603 to 1868. The road, which passed through mountainous and rural terrain, connected the former imperial capital, Kyoto, with the city of Edo, which is now known as Tokyo. In 1832, ukiyo-e artist Utagawa Hiroshige traveled along the road with an entourage of shogun officials from Edo. Over the next two years, Hiroshige made these colorful woodblock prints showing
the activity of people, as well as the structures and landscapes, at the 53 government-sanctioned rest stations along the Tōkaidō Road.
Japanese Matchbook Labels
This album contains 256 labels from Japanese matchbooks likely created between 1940 and 1950. The matchbook labels, which advertised in both English and Japanese, have been pasted on to 46 individual pages. One image depicts Mickey Mouse on a Pachinko Parlor advertisement.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/finding-aid.php?id=1084
"Singing While Shucking Oysters at B & L Packing Plant," 1954
Audio recording of "Singing While Shucking Oysters at B & L Packing Plant," located in Bivalve, Maryland, 1954. From 2014.008 Nancy Robertson Collection at the Nabb Research Center.
Spanish Ration Coupons
- Spanish Ration CouponsThese 12 Spanish Ration Coupons sheets each contain ten perforated individual coupon cards that date between 1937 and 1953, with the bulk dating between 1937 and 1943. Each complete sheet depicts a range of advertisements from the Spanish Civil War, the Second World War, militias, youth organizations, and government social assistance programs. Locations noted on the verso of the cards include Malaga, Toledo, Valencia, Almeria, Huesca, Murcia, Galicia, Tarrega, Lerida, Avila, and Barcelona. The items that could be redeemed for these coupons also vary.
Brig Peggy Ledger, 1766-1767
Part of the Freedom Ainsworth Collection, the Brigg Peggy ledger concerns the finances of the trading ship Brig Peggy, including the expenses of building and outfitting the ship, cargo carried, and the commanding officer's notes, as it traded between the Wicomico River and the Caribbean.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/local-history-archives/1999.008