Primary Source Analysis Worksheets
During our primary source session, each student will complete one primary source analysis worksheet for the collection their group has chosen. Please check the type of document (written, photograph, poster/cartoon, or artifact) and complete the associated worksheet.
Diary of Frank Dunbaugh
Frank Dunbaugh Jr. was a major in the US Army during World War II (he also served as a private in World War I). This diary transcription details his time as the military governor of Hersbruck, Germany, and how his unit identified former Nazi party members, the interrogations of SS officers, rioting in a Polish refugee camp, and meeting the survivors of concentration and labor camps.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/special-collections/SC2016.078
Woman's Christian Temperance Union Flyers
Flyers advertising the need for a constitutional amendment for Prohibition sponsored by the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, circa 1915.
SC2017.027
Flyers advertising the need for a constitutional amendment for Prohibition sponsored by the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, circa 1915.
SC2017.027
Flyers advertising the need for a constitutional amendment for Prohibition sponsored by the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, circa 1915.
SC2017.027
Flyers advertising the need for a constitutional amendment for Prohibition sponsored by the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, circa 1915.
SC2017.027
Scrapbook of Albert Mireck
- Link to ScrapbookThis scrapbook was created by Albert Mireck of Detroit, Michigan from 1941 to 1954 and documents his service during the Second World War and his 1951 loyalty hearing after being accused of being a Russian spy.
Chinese Cultural Revolution Posters
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
These posters represent Chinese propaganda during the 1960s and 1970s, including images that promoted the cultural revolution.
SC2017.030
Soviet Union Propaganda Posters
"Defend Petrograd with All Your Strength!" 1919
By: Alexander Apsit (1880-1944)
"Have You Volunteered?" 1920
By: Dmitry Moor (1883-1946)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Wrangel Is Still Alive, Smash Him without Mercy!" 1920
By: Dmitry Moor (1883-1946)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Every Blow of the Hammer Is a Blow at the Enemy!" 1920
By: Victor Deni (1893-1946)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Start Mowing in Time!" 1920
By: Victor Deni (1893-1946)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"The Constituent Assembly" 1921
By: Victor Deni (1893-1946)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Let the Ruling Classes Tremble before the Communist Revolution!" 1922
By: Anatoly Sokolov (1888-1965)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Long Live the Komsomol!" 1924
By: Alexander Samokhvalov (1894-1971)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"We Are Young Leninists." 1925
By: Vladimir Konashevich (1888-1963)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"In Defense of the USSR." 1929
By: Valentina Kulaghina (1902-1987)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"We'll Mechanize the Donbass." 1930
By: Alexander Deineka (1899-1969)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"International Women Workers' Day." 1930
By: Valentina Kulaghina (1902-1987)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Smash the Fetters of World Fascism!" 1905
By: Sophia Adlin (1905- Unknown)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"We Are Speeding Towards Socialism." 1931
By: Mechislav Dobrokovsky (1895-1937)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"The USSR Is the Shock Brigade of the World Proletariat." 1931
By: Gustav Klutsis (1895-1944)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Are You Ready for the Spring Sowing?" 1932
By: Alexei Kokorekin (1906-1959)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"We'll Smash and Liquidate the Enemy!" 1941
By: The Kukryniksy
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"We Used to Spear the Enemy to Death..." 1941
By: The Kukryniksy
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Free Me!" 1943
By: Anatoly Kazantsev (1908-1963)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"On to Berlin!" 1944
By: Leonid Golovanov (1904-1980)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
"Disarmament Is the Ideal of Socialism" 1983
By: Mikhail Getman (1932-Unknown)
This collection of posters was originally printed from 1919 to 1944. They were reprinted in 1968. The posters promote the USSR, communism, and the destruction of the nation's enemies. They also encourage their citizens to support their nation and troops.
SC2020.005
Cuban Propaganda Posters
Day of Solidarity with Palestine, May 15
By Jesus Forjans, 1968.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
World Solidarity with the Struggle of the People of Puerto Rico
By Victor Manuel Navarrete, 1978.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Day of World Solidarity with the Struggle of the People of Puerto Rico, September 23
By Rolando Cordoba, 1976.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
May 15, Day of World Solidarity with the Struggle of the People of Palestine
By Olivio Martinez, 1970.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
14.04
A New, Strong and Decisive International Solidarity with Central America and the Caribbean
By Alberto Blanco, 1982.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Palestine
By Rafael Enriquez, 1980.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Solidarity with the Struggle of the People of Palestine
By Victor Manuel Navarrete, 1979.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Unity in the Face of Imperialist Aggression Against Nicaragua
By Alberto Blanco, 1985.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Solidarity with the Struggle of the People of Palestine. World Conference of Solidarity with the Arab People Central Issue: The Palestine Question, Lisbon 2 to 4 November 1979
By Rolando Cordoba, 1979.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Day of Solidarity with the People of South Africa, June 26
By Berta Abelenda, 1969.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
World Solidarity with Puerto Rico
By Alberto Blanco, 1980
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Power to the People
By Rafael Morante, 1971.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Solidarity with the African American People, August 18, 1968
By Lazaro Abrev, 1968.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
World Solidarity with the Cuban Revolution
By Victor Manuel Navarrete, 1980.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Day of Solidarity with Zimbabwe
By Arturo Palomino, 1974.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Retaliation to Crime: Revolutionary Violence
By Alfredo Rostgaard, 1968.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Angola Day of Solidarity
By Daysi Garcia, 1969.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
February 4: Day of Solidarity with Angola
By Lucio Martinez, 1972.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
March 13-19: Together with Viet Nam
By Ernesto Padron, 1971.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Freedom for the Wilmington 10
By Rolando Cordova, 1977.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Build and Defend the New Life, Viet Nam
By Rafael Enriquez, 1982.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Zimbabwe Day of Solidarity, March 17
By Lazaro Abreu, 1972.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Angela Davis
By Alfredo Rostgaard, 1972.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Cuba, July 26, 1968
By Raul Martinez, 1968.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Guatemala
By Olivio Martinez, 1969.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Day of Solidarity with Guatemala, February 6
By Antonio Marino, 1970.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Day of Solidarity with the Afro-American People, August 18
By Daysi Garcia, 1968.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Day of Africa, May 25
By Victor Manuel Navarret, 1978.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
By Lazaro Abreu, 1968.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
International Week of Solidarity with the Peoples of Africa, May 22-28
By Gladys Acosta, 1971.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Solidarity with the Peoples of Africa
By Rafael Morante, 1983.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Nelson Mandela: Symbol of the Anti-Apartheid Struggle
By Alberto Blanco, 1986.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Long Live Free Zimbabwe
By Lazaro Abreu, 1980.
The International Propaganda Poster Collection documents Cuban politics and their propaganda campaign against racism and support of solidarity with international groups. These posters were reprinted as part of the Ediciones TRIcontinental, Feria Internacional del Libro in 2005.
SC2020.014
Other Collections
- Album de la Revolucion CubanaThis album, published by Editorial Echevarria in 1960 for the Ministry of Commerce, consists of trading cards that consumers collected when purchasing goods from the CIA Industrial Empacadora de Dulces, S.A.. Each trading card, complete with illustrations of the revolution's leaders and major figures, includes an explanatory subtitle that tells the story of the Cuban Revolution from 1952 to 1959. Illustrations by J.M. Picart and text by Mario Jimenez.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/finding-aid.php?id=1179 - American Labor Poster IllustrationsThese approximately 50 pages contain cartoons that support American unions and laborers in general from the 1940s. The cartoons were intended to be used on posters and examples of how to use the illustrations in a layout are included on the pages. Each page contains several illustrations and the depictions range from laborers standing up to capitalists to references to the Taft-Hartley Act.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/finding-aid.php?id=2257 - Bollywood PostersThese ten posters were advertisements for Bollywood films in India in the 1940s.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/finding-aid.php?id=1200 - World War I German Cigarette Card AlbumThis First World War (Der Weltkrieg) Cigarette Card Album was created by Herousgegeben Vom Cigaretten Bilderdienft in 1935. Included are 270 color cards depicting scenes from the First World War, 1914-1918.
Finding Aid portal link: https://libapps.salisbury.edu/nabb-archives/finding-aid.php?id=1132