Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Ask yourself as many questions as possible to ensure you are thinking critically about the subject.
- For target market research, consider not just the age, but the lifestyle, gender, household size, location, culture, and other factors that would influence that market's consumer tendencies.
- Alternate your focus between the company/product and the consumer (who would buy X product? would person Y buy it? what prevents them from doing so? what could the company/product do to change this?).
Where to start?
- Segmentation strategy
- Target customer(s)
- Socioeconomic characteristics
- Product end-use (b2b)
- Company size (b2b)
- Type of industry (b2b)
- Geographic location
- Marketing mix
- Product strategy
- Pricing strategy
- Communication strategy
- Distribution channels
- Marketing textbook
- Company profiles -- library databases
- Press releases
- Industry reports -- library databases
- Statistics -- library databases
- News stories -- library databases
- Annual reports -- library databases
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications.
Websites Worth Mentioning
What People Watch - What People Buy. Nielsen studies consumers in more than 100 countries to give provide a complete view of trends and habits worldwide. Reports on: Media & Entertainment; Consumers; Global; and Online are often available for free download after providing information about yourself.
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan, non-advocacy public opinion polling and demographic research. Topics include: U.S. Politics; Media & News; Social Trends; Religion; Internet & Tech; Hispanics; and Global. The Internet & Tech tab brings you the Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project, which has the latest research and infographics on social media, mobile, and other technology user information.