Page Contents
Resource lists on this page include:
Consumer Health Information
Evidence Based Practice Information
History of the Nursing Profession
Research on Nursing Practice
Theories of Nursing Practice
Consumer Health Information Sources
- MEDLINE PlusFrom the U.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH National Institute of Health. Offers reliable information for patients and their families and friends.
- For Health Consumers: Top Ten Most Useful WebsitesFrom the Medical Library Association. The Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS) of MLA evaluates websites based on the following criteria: credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency, disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers.
- Top 100 List: Health Websites You Can TrustFrom CAPHIS Consumer & Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association. Quallity health web sites selected by medical librarians.
- PubMed HealthInformation for consumers & professionals through the National Library of Medicine
Consumer Information: Affordable Health Care Resources
Affordable Health Care Act resources
- Maryland Health ConnectionInformation on affordable health care for Maryland residents.
- Maryland State Library Resource CenterA guide that provides links to key resources on affordable health care for Maryland residents.
Evidence Based Nursing Practice Research Guides
- Evidence at BeckerFrom the Bernard Becker Medical Library
Washington University, St. Louis - Evidence Based Nursing Information ResourcesThe Henderson Repository Resource Center
http://www.nursinglibrary.org/vhl/pages/resources.html
Virginia Henderson Global Nursing e-Repository
http://www.nursinglibrary.org/vhl/ - Evidence Based Practice Nursing ResourcesFrom the Nursing & Allied Health Resources Section Medical Library Association
- Evidence Based Practice - Research for NursingFrom the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago, University of Illinois at Chicago
- Evidence Based Practice Tutorial for NursesFrom Penn State University Libraries,
University Park
History of Nursing Information Resources
- American Association for the History of Nursing AAHNThe American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN) is a professional organization open to everyone interested in the history of nursing.
Information Resources about Nursing Theories
- Research Resources on Nursing Theory & ResearchBy the Hahn School of Nursing & Health Science, University of San Diego
- History of Nursing Theory PageFrom Clayton State University, Morrow, GA. School of Nursing.
http://www.clayton.edu/health/nursing/faculty/leichelberger
Research Toolkit - American Nurses Association
American Nurses Association (ANA) Research Toolkit - Acquiring Information
http://www.nursingworld.org/Research-Toolkit/Acquiring-Information
- ANA Research ToolkitDatabases and Resources
- ANA Research ToolkitTutorials on Database Searching
History of Nursing titles
- American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary byCall Number: Stacks RT34.A44ISBN: 9780824085407Publication Date: 1988-03-01
Answering the Call: The U.S. Army Nurse Corps, 1917-1919 by Call Number: Stacks D629.U6 A65 2008ISBN: 9780160817243Publication Date: 2008-11-10
Dictionary of American Nursing Biography by Call Number: Stacks RT34 .D53 1988ISBN: 0313245207Publication Date: 1988-02-24
Enduring Issues in American Nursing by Call Number: RT4.E53 2002ISBN: 9780826113733Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing by Call Number: Stacks | RT31 .S66 1999ISBN: 1576070867Publication Date: 1999
A History of Nursing Ideas by Call Number: RT31.H575 2006ISBN: 9780763722890Publication Date: 2005-09-28
Nursing: A Historical Bibliography by Call Number: Stacks Z6675.N7 B84ISBN: 9780824095116Publication Date: 1981-06-01
Nursing, the Finest Art: An Illustrated History, 3rd ed. by Call Number: Stacks RT31.D66 2011ISBN: 9780323053051Publication Date: 2011
Pivotal Moments in Nursing: Leaders Who Changed the Path of a Profession by Call Number: Stacks RT34 .H68 2004ISBN: 9781930538191Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Reflecting on 30 Years of Nursing Leadership, 1975-2005 by Call Number: Stacks RT41.D66 2005ISBN: 9781930538283Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Books about Nursing Theories
Culture Care Diversity and Universality: A Worldwide Nursing Theory by Call Number: Stacks RT86.54.C85 2006ISBN: 9780763734374Publication Date: 2005-11-03
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research, 4th ed. by Call Number: Ref. RT81.5.P69 2011ISBN: 9780826106650Publication Date: 2011This updated and revised dictionary presents up-to-the-minute definitions and discussions of terms commonly encountered in nursing literature. Included in this fourth edition are complete updates of all entries with new references, information for developing fields of research (e.g., mixed methods), and entries that reflect evolving patterns and issues in the field. --From publisher's description.
Giving Voice to What We Know by Call Number: Stacks RT84.5.N4789 G545 2005ISBN: 9780763725723Publication Date: 2004-08-02- Margaret Newman: Health as Expanding Consciousness byCall Number: Stacks RT84.5.M36 1993ISBN: 9780803947962Publication Date: 1992-12-15
Nursing: Concepts of Practice by Call Number: Stacks RT84.5.O73 2001ISBN: 9780323008648Publication Date: 2001-01-09
Nursing Theorists & Their Work, 6th ed. by Call Number: Stacks RT84.5 .N9 2006ISBN: 9780323030106Publication Date: 2006
Nursing Theory: Utilization & Application by Call Number: Stacks RT84.5.N94 2006ISBN: 9780323031332Publication Date: 2005-12-16- Perspectives on Nursing Theory byCall Number: Stacks RT84.5.P47 2004ISBN: 9780781747431Publication Date: 2003-07-03
- Rosemarie Parse: Theory of Health as Human Becoming byCall Number: Stacks RT84.5.B85 1993ISBN: 9780803947955Publication Date: 1992-12-01
Understanding the Work of Nurse Theorists by Call Number: Stacks RT84.5.S53 2004ISBN: 9780763747664Publication Date: 2003-10-30
Contact
Library Collection Plan
- Health Sciences & Nursing ResourcesPlans for the Library collection.
Collection Guidelines for the Health Sciences and Nursing Departments.