Skip to main content

MUSC 305: Music History I: Introduction & Assignment

Your Assignments

Listening Assignments – Format

All Listening Assignments must be typed with score attached and handed into class (no electronic copies will be excepted).

Each assignment must include a copy of the score that is marked with the appropriate answers.

You must include a bibliography for each assignment that contains at least five sources in the works cited list. Your works cited list must reference at least two contrasting scholarly sources. (See chapter 9 in Bellman’s A Short Guide to Writing About Music and the MLA citation style handout). The term “scholarly sources” refers to books, periodicals, and musical dictionaries and encyclopedias. You may use online library search engines to develop your bibliography, but your works cited list may not contain any web-based sources. You may also use the textbook and anthology as ONE source.


 
LISTENING ASSIGNMENT #1 – Due F 10/11 - 100 points

Josquin – Ave maria…virgo serena – Anthology #44 – page 234

 

Answer the following questions:

1. Where do the phrases begin with a point of imitation? List every instance, including the beginning measure number, the first words of the phrase, and the number of voices that participate in the point of imitation. Also, mark the phrases in the score. (20 points)

2. How does Josquin’s music depict and express the text? (15 points)

3. What texts does Josquin draw the words from in this motet? Who does he praise and why? (10)

4. What is the form of this motet? (10)

5. What mode is this work in? How is the mode projected in the music? (15)

6. Discuss the texture in this piece? How does Josquin treat it? (10)

7. How exactly does Josquin’s end each section? Discuss the cadences and mark them in the score. (10)

8. Bibliography - 5 sources (10)


LISTENING ASSIGNMENT #2 – Due M 11/15 - 100 points

Dido and Aeneas –- Anthology #89 page 639

 

Answer the following questions:

1. Discuss and analyze the recitative Thy hand, Belinda (NAWM 89a). How does the music convey Dido’s emotions? Mark your score as well with your analysis. (20)

2. Laments in Italian operas were often written over a descending ground bass, and Purcell’s aria When I am laid in earth (NAWM 89b) follows this tradition. This excerpt contains dissonance between the ostinato bass (Mark how many times the ground bass is repeated in the score) and the vocal line. Examine and mark in the score where those dissonances or conflicts occur in the phrasing. What other devices does Purcell use to give this music the feeling of a lament? (20)

3. In the closing chorus With dropping Wings (NAWM 89c) of Dido and Aeneas what does the music exactly do to reinforce the mood of the lament? (15)

4. What foreign influences did Purcell take from to write this opera? What literary sources did this piece model itself after? (15)

5. Examine the English rhythms used in this opera—particularly in the final recitative—explain. Also, discuss the other genres of the time; including The Fairy Queen and Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. (20)

6. Bibliography- 5 sources (10)


LISTENING ASSIGNMENT #3 – Due – M 11/25 - 100 points

Vivaldi – Concerto for Violin and Orchestra – Opus 3. No. 6 Movement one -- Anthology #96 page 696

Answer the following questions:

1. What is the overall harmonic plan of the first movement? How is this articulated by the ritornellos and episodes? (20) Mark the sections and harmony in the score

2. How many opening ideas does Vivaldi use in the opening ritornello? Describe each of them and note (using measure numbers) where these ideas return throughout the movement. (20) Mark in score

3. The soloist plays the A material from the ritornello in the first episode and then introduces new material in the second episode. Describe this new material, what it draws from the ritornello, and how it differs. (20) Mark material in the score

4. Describe the other episodes. What sorts of material do they include? (20) Mark episodic material in the score

5. How would you describe Vivaldi’s style? Compare it to someone a contemporary of his, such as Corelli. (10)

6. Bibliography – 5 sources (10)

 

Manage & Organize

ProQuest RefWorks is a citation management tool. It helps you keep track of all your sources. There are many different ones out there, but RefWorks is the only one support by SU Libraries.

You can check out this guide for help or ask a librarian!