Skip to main content

MKTG 336: Scholarly Articles

Research strategies and resources for MKTG 336 Direct and Interactive Marketing with Dr. Paula Morris

Find Scholarly Articles

Refer to the General Search Strategies tab for information on keywords and search phrase construction!

Search options & filters

Catalog: Use the filters on the left-hand side of the page to trim down your search results.

  • Format: select the "Peer-reviewed" box under "Article"

Databases: Filters will differ slightly depending on the database. Most offer Search Options (edit these before you hit search), as well as results filters (available once you view the search results list).

  • When available, check the box for Peer-Reviewed or Scholarly.
  • Date Range: keep this search option in mind if you only want research from the last 5-10 years.

Online Access

For a list of recommended article databases, see the box "Library Databases with Scholarly Articles" to the right (or the bottom of the page, if on a mobile device).

To search certain databases at once, use the SU Libraries Quick Search. Once you find an article, check the publication date, then use the Find It button to access it through one of our databases. Make sure you select a database whose access includes the publication date of your article. 

  • Access not available through SU?

If you find an article with no full-text available, first double-check our print holdings of the journal. See the "Print Access" summary below.

If we do not have print access, request access to the article through InterLibrary Loan (see link below). Article requests take 1-3 business days.

 

Print Access

To find articles in print, search a journal by name (for a recommended list, see the "Browse journals for articles" tab) in the SU Libraries Quick Search. Select a journal and check our holdings under "Find a copy in the library". If a record exists, check the date range provided in the "Status" column and compare it against the date your article was published (or, if you're just browsing, simply make sure we have recent issues available). If the date range is open-ended (e.g., 2002- ), that means we currently subscribe to the journal and should have the most recent issue.

Locate print holdings of a journal in our SU Libraries Quick Search

  • Current journals (current year) on 1st floor in "Pit". Listed alphabetically starting near the Circulation & Research Help Desks
  • Bound journals (roughly 1 year ago and older) on 3rd floor in compact, movable stacks. To access materials on a given stack (the library shelving unit), simply spin its crank to create an aisle. Check for people in other aisles first! This will move all stacks to the left or right of that stack, depending on the direction you move it.

If you have a specific journal in mind, look up SU Libraries' holdings or online access.

For online access, use the search box below or the search field on the library homepage. If using the library home page search, once you find the journal, open its page and use the Find It button to select an access method. Be sure to select a database that has the most recent holdings available (e.g., Vol. 39 Issue 1 through present; 1999 to 12 months ago).

For print access, use the library homepage search box. Once you locate the journal, open its page and scroll down to "Find a copy in the library." If a record exists, refer to the date range provided under the "Status" column to check our holdings. If a date range is open-ended (e.g., 2002- ), this means we currently subscribe and should have the most recent available issue. For locating journals, refer to the library map information on the previous tab ("Locating articles online and in print").

Loading ...

Library Databases with Scholarly Articles

These are online resources, accessible remotely - you will be prompted to login with your SU username and password (same as for GullNet, MyClasses, etc.)

Use the search strategies recommended to the left (or at the top of this page, if using a mobile device).

If a full-text PDF is not immediately available for an article, use the yellow Find It button on the article's page to see if we have access through a different database or a print journal.