This is the "Target Market/Demographics" page of the "Target Market/Demographics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Target Market/Demographics  

Last Updated: Nov 12, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.salisbury.edu/targetmarket Print Guide RSS Updates

Target Market/Demographics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Target Market/Demographics

Target market identification is "The process of using income, demographic, and life style characteristics of a market and census information for small areas to identify the most favorable locations." - AMA Dictionary

Select Census.gov Resources

  • American FactFinder
    Search data from the American Community Survey, American Housing Survey, Annual Economic Surveys, Decennial Census, Economic Census, EEO Tabulation, Population Estimates Program, and Puerto Rico Community Survey.
  • Censtats Database
    County, zip code, and metro business patterns.
  • U.S. Census Bureau

Salisbury & Maryland Resources

These resources could help determine target market size for the geographic/market area around Salisbury, MD.

Websites Worth Mentioning

  • Nielsen
    What People Watch - What People Buy. Nielsen studies consumers in more than 100 countries to give provide a complete view of trends and habits worldwide. Reports on: Media & Entertainment; Consumers; Global; and Online are often available for free download after providing information about yourself.
  • Pew Research Center
    Nonpartisan, non-advocacy public opinion polling and demographic research. Topics include: U.S. Politics; Media & News; Social Trends; Religion; Internet & Tech; Hispanics; and Global. The Internet & Tech tab brings you the Pew Research Center's Internet & American Life Project, which has the latest research and infographics on social media, mobile, and other technology user information.
 

Select E-Books

Blackwell Library E-Books Quick Help

Cover Art
Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand - New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Call Number: HC110.C6 B384 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014
"Find out how the American marketplace has been transformed by the Great Recession in the new 10th edition of Best Customers: Demographics of Consumer Demand, with all-important 2012 spending data. Best Customers is a unique look at who the best and biggest customers are for hundreds of individual products and services. The new edition of Best Customers includes analyses of spending trends before (2000 to 2006) and after (2006 to 2012) the Great Recession, product by product."

Cover Art
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What - New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Call Number: HC110.C6 H385 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014
"Based on data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2012 Consumer Expenditure Survey, this report examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services, all organized by demographics. It discusses who is buying what, and how much they spend. Also included in this edition is a comparison of spending trends before and after the Great Recession."

Cover Art
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns - New Strategist Publications, Inc.
Call Number: HF5415.3 .A44 2014eb
Publication Date: 2014
Provides the demographics and spending patterns of American consumers. Includes data on education, health, housing, income, labor force participation, living arrangements, population, spending, and wealth.

 

Select Reference Titles

The following selected resources are located in the Reference Collection on the first floor of Blackwell Library. These resources remain in the library for all patrons to use.


Cover Art
Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What? - New Strategist Publications
Call Number: HA203 .A635 2011
Publication Date: 2011
"...Based on unpublished data collected by the Bureau of Labor Statistics' 2011 Consumer Expenditure Survey—you can’t get this data online—Household Spending examines how much American households spend on hundreds of products and services by the demographics that count: age, income, household type, region of residence, race and Hispanic origin, and educational attainment. The individual products and services are organized into chapters on Apparel; Entertainment; Financial Products; Food and Alcohol; Gifts; Household Operations; Shelter and Utilities; Personal Care, Reading, Education, and Tobacco; and Transportation." - Publisher Website

Cover Art
Sourcebook of County Demographics - ESRI Business Information Solutions.
Call Number: HA203 .S65 2009
Publication Date: 2009
For each state, provides county level data per Population, Race, Age, Households, Families, Median Household Income, Income, Spending Potential Indices. Also provides, business data per county (number of firms, top industry).

Cover Art
Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics - ESRI
Call Number: HA203 .S66 2009
Publication Date: 2009
For each zip code, provides county level data per Population, Race, Age, Households, Families, Median Household Income, Income, Spending Potential Indices. Also provides, business data per county (number of firms, top industry). See 'consumer type' data for top lifestyle and % of households that fit that lifestyle. Tapestry consumer types defined in the front of the book.

Cover Art
The American marketplace : demographics and spending patterns. - New Strategist Publications
Call Number: HA203 .A635 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Find this title in the reference collection. "The American Marketplace draws on scores of government sources to give you a population profile of the United States in one handy volume. Its hundreds of tables are organized into 11 chapters covering attitudes, education, health, housing, income, labor force, living arrangements, population, spending, time use, and wealth. This edition of The American Marketplace contains the latest attitudinal data from the recently released 2010 General Social Survey. The chapter on time use examines data from the 2009 American Time Use Survey. Also included are up-to-date income and labor force data and 2010 census data profiling the Asian, black, and hispanic populations. Data in the spending chapter reveal how spending patterns are changing."

Select Databases

Try searching databases by keywords describing your product or service combine or industry code combined with keywords such as "consumers" or "market."

  • ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
    Business research database featuring full text for more than 2,670 publications; Non-journal content includes company profiles, annual reports, case studies, industry reports and market reports; Subject coverage: business, economic conditions, corporate strategies, management theory, management techniques, business trends, competitive landscape and product information, accounting, finance, etc.
  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
    Comprehensive, scholarly, full text database for multidisciplinary research
  • Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
    Includes millions of records covering: company profiles, industry rankings, products and brands, company performance ratings, investment reports, industry statistics, current investment ratings, comprehensive financial overviews, pricing momentum and key ratio measures, financial ratios
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
    Business research database featuring full text for more than 2,200 journals; Non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses; Subject coverage: marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.
  • Statista
    Statista.com, by Statista Inc., provides relevant and recent statistics, market data, industry reports, studies, and research & analysis on over 60,000 topics, aggregated from over 18,000 sources, and categorized into 21 market sectors. International statistics and market data are available for over 36 countries. Easily incorporate charts or graphs into your report or presentation by downloading statistics to Powerpoint or Excel.
 

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip