This is the "Industry Research" page of the "Industry Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Industry Research  

Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.salisbury.edu/industryresearch Print Guide RSS Updates

Industry Research Print Page
  Search: 
 

Industry Codes

Simplify your research and keep things consistent by FIRST defining your industry by selecting the industry code that classifies your business or service.

See tab Industry Codes for more information.

Government Resources

  • American FactFinder
    Search data from the American Community Survey, American Housing Survey, three Annual Economic Surveys (Annual Survey of Manufacturers, Nonemployer Statistics), Decennial Census, Economic Census, Equal Employment Opportunity Tabulation, Population Estimates Program, Puerto Rico Community Survey
  • Industry Statistics Portal (U.S. Census Bureau)
    This application provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry.
  • Overview of Economic Statistical Programs (U.S. Census Bureau)
    The U.S. Census Bureau conducts a number of statistical programs that can be especially useful for your business research needs. This webpage provides an overview of those programs or surveys, which can be used to pull data.

Find Associations and Search Databases for Trade Publications

Associations keep track of industry data for their members and may have valuable information on an industry that would not be found in standard business sources. Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) offers a directory of associations. Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost) and ABI/INFORM (ProQuest) offer trade publications for some associations or organizations.

Off campus, sign in using your 14 digit library barcode and last name.

  • ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
    Search by keyword or industry name/NAICS code. Select 'Trade Journals' as the Source Type along the right side of the page. Continue to narrow your results as needed.
  • Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
    Lists Association Profiles for a # of associations within an industry. Search by industry name/NAICS code in the search box. Access the Industry Profile for your industry. Look for a link to 'Associations' in the Related Content box along the right side of the page.
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
    Search for by industry or keyword. Select the box next to 'Trade Publications' under Source Type along the left side of the page. Continue to narrow results, as needed.
 

Industry Research

Cover Art
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information - Rita Moss; David G. Ernsthausen
Call Number: HF1010 .M67 2012
ISBN: 9781598848076
This book is located in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Blackwell Library. Industry Information is the subject Chapter 4 (p. 57-74); you may find this information helpful.

Recommended Databases

  • ABI/INFORM Global (ProQuest)
    Contains Industry Reports and Market Research Reports, in addition to news and articles related to an industry. Option to search by NAICS code.
  • Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
    Contains Industry Profiles and Essays searchable by industry name or NAICS code, in addition to market share reports, rankings, and company information. Some notable publications include: Datamonitor Industry Market Research; Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries; Market Share Reporter; Business Rankings Annual
  • Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
    Contains Industry Profiles and Industry Overviews, in addition to news and articles related to an industry. Option to search by NAICS/Industry Code.
  • Mergent Online
    Start with a basic search by company name or ticker symbol. Select 'Report Search' from the tabs at the top of the screen and then select 'Industry Reports' below. Search by company, industry, date range, or region for industry reports. Provides full-text coverage for 24 industry sectors. Each report includes: Current Environment, Industry Profile, Key Points, Key References, Market Trends & Outlook.
  • Value Line Investment Survey
    "...Its up-to-date, weekly issues are a comprehensive reference source. Its coverage is encyclopedic, covering some 1,700 equity issues. For each stock in its universe, the Value Line Investment Survey offers year-ahead and three- to five-year probable relative price performance, projections of key financial measures, and concise, objective commentary on current operations and future prospects..." Use the Investment Education tab for guides that will help you read the reports. Use the 'Look Up Industry' along the left toolbar within the Investment Survey for reports on 102 sectors.
 

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys

What is provided in an S&P Industry Survey? Check out this sample provided from the Standard and Poor's publishing website.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys - Standard & Poor's Corporation
Call Number: HC106.6 .S74
Analyzes over 50 major North American industries. Each industry survey contains information on: Current Environment; Industry Profile; Industry Trends; How the Industry Operates; Key Industry Ratio and Statistics; Glossary; Industry References (periodicals, trade associations, and government agencies); and, Comparative Company Analysis. Published quarterly.

 

Industry Ratios

Cover Art
RMA Annual Statement Studies - Robert Morris Associates.; RMA (Association); Risk Management Association.
Call Number: HF5681.B2 R6
"Contains composite financial data on manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting lines of business. Arranged by SIC code, this work makes it possible to compare one company's performance relative to other companies in the same line of business. Annual publication kept in Reference Collection.

Cover Art
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios - Dun & Bradstreet Credit Services.; Dun & Bradstreet Corporation. Industry & Financial Consulting Services.
Call Number: HF5681.R25 I53
"Arranged by SIC code, this work includes financial data and important ratios from an aggregate number of establishments within an industry. Examination of this information establishes present and future norms from which a venture's performance can be judged." Annual publication kept in Reference Collection.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Loudenslager
Contact Info
Blackwell Library Room 128
(410) 548-3899
seloudenslager@salisbury.edu

Fall 2014 Perdue Office Hours:
Tuesdays 2-4pm (2nd floor @ 2pm, 3rd floor @ 3pm).
Send Email
Subjects:
Business
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip