What is a Background Source?
Background sources, like encyclopedias, dictionaries, or manuals can be great places for background information, basic facts, and other great information to start of your research. Below are a few of the types and titles of some reference sources that might be helpful for Psychology research. Click through the tabs for formats.
Reference Books
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) by Call Number: Ready Reference RC455.2.C4 D54 2013ISBN: 9780890425558Publication Date: 2013-05-22RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, DSM-IV-TR by Call Number: Ref. RC455.2.C4D536 2000ISBN: 0890420246Publication Date: 2000-01-01DSM-IV-TR
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: Reference BF31 .A63 2007ISBN: 9781591473800Publication Date: 2006-07-15
Apa Dictionary of Clinical Psychology by Call Number: REF RC467.A63 2013ISBN: 9781433812071Publication Date: 2012-08-13
A Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: REF BF31.C65 2006ISBN: 9780192806321Publication Date: 2006-04-12
Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: REF BF31.C72 2002ISBN: 1583913289Publication Date: 2001-12-26
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by Call Number: eBookISBN: 008046064XPublication Date: 2006-01-01
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: REF BF31 .C67 2010ISBN: 9780470170243Publication Date: 2010-01-26
Encyclopedia of Clinical Child and Pediatric Psychology by Call Number: REF RJ503.3 .E53 2003ISBN: 0306474905Publication Date: 2003-07-31
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Call Number: REF R726.5 .E53 2004ISBN: 0761923608Publication Date: 2004-01-21
Encyclopedia of Health Psychology by Call Number: REF R726.7 .E53 2004ISBN: 030648336XPublication Date: 2004-07-21
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior by Call Number: BF31 .E53 2012ebISBN: 9780080961804Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by Call Number: REF HF5548.8 .E497 2007ISBN: 1412924707Publication Date: 2006-08-18
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology by Call Number: STACKS GN502 .E63 2006ISBN: 1412909481Publication Date: 2006-08-18
The Encyclopedia of Positive Psychology by Call Number: Stacks BF204.6 .E53 2009ISBN: 9781405161251Publication Date: 2009-02-02
Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law by Call Number: REF K346 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781412951890Publication Date: 2007-12-21
Psychology of Classroom Learning by Call Number: REF LB1060 .P89 2009ISBN: 9780028661674Publication Date: 2008-08-29
Handbook of Psychology, 12 Volume Set by Call Number: REF BF121.H1955 2003ISBN: 9780471176695Publication Date: 2003-01-0912 volumes
APA Handbook of Behavior Analysis by Call Number: Stacks BF199 .A67 2013 v.1 and v.2ISBN: 9781433811111Publication Date: 2012-08-13
Handbook of the Psychology of Religion and Spirituality, Second Edition by Call Number: BL53 .H288 2013ebISBN: 9781462510153Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Handbook of Cognition and Emotion by Call Number: BF311 .H3336 2013ebISBN: 9781462510030Publication Date: 2013-04-03
APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology by Call Number: Stacks BF76.4 .A635 2012 v.1 and v.2ISBN: 9781433810008Publication Date: 2011-09-15
The Oxford Handbook of Personality Disorders by Call Number: Stacks RC554 .O94 2012ISBN: 9780199735013Publication Date: 2012-09-13
Handbook of the History of Social Psychology by Call Number: Stacks HM1025 .H36 2012ISBN: 9781848728684Publication Date: 2011-12-01
APA Handbook of Testing and Assessment in Psychology by Call Number: Reference | BF176 .A63 2013ISBN: 9781433812279Publication Date: 2013-02-01
