Guide to Reference Sources
Guide to Reference Sources
Essential Nursing Resources 26th edition 2012 A bibliography of resources compiled by the Interagency Council on Information Resources for Nursing (ICIRN).
- Essential Nursing ResourcesBy the Interagency Council on Information Resources for Nursing (ICIRN).
Diagnostic & Laboratory Tests
- Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic TestsCall Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2011with Nursing Implications
- Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications 7th ed.Call Number: Ref. RB38.2.K44 2013Publication Date: 2013
- Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications, 8th ed.Call Number: REF RT48.5.K44 2010Publication Date: 2010
- Mosby's Manual of Diagnostic & Laboratory Tests, 4th ed.Call Number: REF RB38.2.P34 2010Publication Date: 2010
Nursing Diagnoses
- Manual of Nursing DiagnosisCall Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2010Including all diagnostic categories approved by the North American Nursing Diagnosis Association (NANDA)
- NANDA International Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions & ClassificationCall Number: REF RT48.6.N67 2012-2014Publication Date: 2012-2014
- NOC and NIC Linkages to NANDA-I and Clinical ConditionsCall Number: e-bookPublication Date: 2012Supporting Critical Thinking & Quality Care
- Nursing Diagnoses in Psychiatric Nursing, 8th ed.Call Number: e-BookPublication Date: 2011Nursing Care Plans & Psychotropic Medications
Physical Examination
Reference Resources from NLM
- Reference Resources & DatabasesFrom Locator Plus, National Library of Medicine.
- NLM Subject Guides on Selected TopicsGuides to information resources from the National Library of Medicine.
New Electronic Reference Books AY 2013-2014
- Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary [electronic resource] byCall Number: E-BookISBN: 9781455709854Publication Date: 201232nd edition
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis, 13th ed. by Call Number: E-Books | RT48.6 .C385 2010ebISBN: 9780781777933Publication Date: 2009-08-06
2014 Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide by Call Number: SU Blackwell Library E-Books RM301.12 .K373 2014ebISBN: 9781451186550Publication Date: 2013-06-12
A Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests, 8th ed. by Call Number: E-Books | RB38.2 .F57 2009ebISBN: 9780781771948Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual, 8th ed. by Call Number: E-Books | RT48.6 .S66 2011ebISBN: 9781608311651Publication Date: 2010-07-27
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
For medicine, nursing, and health sciences.
- Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Allied HealthCall Number: REF R121.E56 2005Publication Date: 20057th edition, revised.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Call Number: Reference | RT81.5 .E53 2012ISBN: 9780826107503Publication Date: 2011-07-01This comprehensive reference presents key terms & concepts about nursing research.- Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions byCall Number: Ref. R121.M89 2013ISBN: 9780323074032Publication Date: 2012-09-18
Mosby's Medical Dictionary by Call Number: REF R121.M89 2009ISBN: 9780323052900Publication Date: 2008-12-04
Medical Abbreviations, Acronyms and Symbols by Call Number: Reference R123 .S69 2013ISBN: 9781608316991Publication Date: 2012-04-17This reference to medical abbreviations provides more than 66,000 abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols from recent medical and allied health professional resources.
Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by Call Number: REF R121.S811 2012ISBN: 9781608316922Publication Date: 2011-04-13Contains medical terminology used by health professionals and in the field of nursing.
Handbooks & Manuals
- ACP Medicine byCall Number: REF R129.S35Publication Date: Serial Publication, updated monthlyMedicine - Periodicals
- Current Medical Diagnosis & TreatmentCall Number: RC71.C97 2012Publication Date: 2012Diagnosis - Periodicals
Therapeutics - Periodicals - Diseases & Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual byCall Number: REF RT51.S66 2011Publication Date: 2011
- Goldman's Cecil MedicineCall Number: REF RC46.G65 2012Publication Date: 2012An internal medicine reference that includes evidence-ranked references.
- Handbook of Religion & Health, 2nd edition byCall Number: Stacks BL65.M4 K597 2012Publication Date: 2012CHOICE Outstanding Title. Reviewed in CHOICE October 2012.
- Harrison's Principles of Internal MedicineCall Number: REF RC46.H333 2012 v.1 & v.2Publication Date: 2012Includes introduction to clinical medicine, manifestations and presentation of diseases, infectious diseases, and disorders of cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, respiratory and other systems.
- The Merck Manual of Diagnosis & TherapyCall Number: online edition
History of Nursing Resources
- American Association for the History of Nursing AAHNMission:
AAHN is a network of discovery that advances historical scholarship in nursing and healthcare and promotes the development of historians. http://www.aahn.org/about.html
NLM Guide to Drug Information Sources
- NLM Subject Guide to Drug InformationFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes information about prescription medications.
Pharmacology - Drug Reference Guides
- MicroMedex Academic ProgramCall Number: Electronic ResourceThe MicroMedex database is an evidence-based clinical reference which provides drug information and answers to clinical questions. The Micromedex® Academic Program provides a subscription to MicroMedex 2.0 to schools with accredited healthcare programs. Information sources include: Drugs (DRUGDEX®, DrugNotes, RED BOOK™ Online); Drug interactions (DRUG-REAX®); Drug identification (IDENTIDEX®); Diseases (DISEASEDEX™); Toxicology (POISINDEX®); Laboratory tests (Lab Advisor®); Alternative medicines (AltMedDex®); IV compatibility (IV INDEX®); and Patient education (CareNotes®, Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer).
- PDR Physician's Desk Reference onlineProvides information about prescription drugs.
Pharmacology - Drug Information Online
AHFS Consumer Medication Information. Provides patient drug information. Published by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, AHFS. Available through EBSCOhost with the Health Source/Nursing Academic database.
- Drug Information PortalU.S. National Library of Medicine, NIH National Institutes of Health.
- MEDLINE Plus Drug InformationU.S. National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health.
- PDRnetPhysician's Drug Reference online prescription information.
Contact
Library of Congress Virtual Reference Shelf
- Virtual Reference ShelfLists online reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, quotations, abbreviations and other general reference resources.