Recommended Starting Points
Remember that different resources can be used for different reasons.This page contains recommended starting points. You may want to consult these guides for additional resources and information:
Finding Customers
Use the Target Market/ Demographics guide for more information on target market, finding customers, determining size, and determining location. Here is a resource that might be helpful to start with:
Consumer Behavior 2022 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781577832959Publication Date: 2021"'Consumer behavior 2022' presents dozens of surveys analyzing consumer spending characteristics, behavioral responses, and preferences. Easy-to-read summaries of current research and other information useful for retailers, marketers, advertisers, and business consultants are presented. While there are other publications focusing on general consumer behavioral topics, 'Consumer behavior 2022' is the only resource that integrates the full spectrum of applied consumer psychology, demographics, and purchasing influences with major consumer surveys. The demographics chapters present valuable insight into 25 segments, including the Hispanic, African-American, Asian-American, Baby Boomer, Generation X, Millennial, gay & lesbian, affluent, and other consumer groups. Over 650 website links--directly embedded into the electronic edition--will direct you to additional market research and other resources."
Identify the industry code that your business/service falls under:
Simplify your research and keep things consistent by FIRST defining your industry by selecting the industry code(s) that classifies your business or service. This code will be particularly helpful when searching the databases or resources like American FactFinder.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
- Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System Search
Use the Industry Research guide for more information and for specific resources that can help with understanding the market of a particular industry.
Search databases for articles or industry reports:
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Complete is an essential tool for business students. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. Content includes many full-text journals and topical video content.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista.com, by Statista, Inc. provides data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, categorized into 21 market sectors. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas.
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys
- Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys byCall Number: HC106.6 .S74Analyzes over 50 major North American industries. Each industry survey contains information on: Current Environment; Industry Profile; Industry Trends; How the Industry Operates; Key Industry Ratio and Statistics; Glossary; Industry References (periodicals, trade associations, and government agencies); and, Comparative Company Analysis. Published quarterly.
More recent editions of the S&P Industry Surveys may be found in the Ready Reference section near between the IT and Library Help desks on the first floor.
Use the Industry Research guide for more information and for specific resources that can help with understanding the market of a particular industry.