Skip to main content

CMAT 205 Trenary

Keyword search using broad-to-narrow strategy

Ebsco databases allow users to search several databases simultaneously. Open Communication & Mass Media Complete below and click "Choose databases." Select databases that are the best fit for your inquiry.


Keywords:  ​social media         politics       news 


Social media = 6000+ results.

Add politics = 1000+ results.

Add "women" = 60+. Notice your results are now much more specific.

  • Limit to scholarly journals. Checkmark the Peer Reviewed box on the left side of your screen.
  • No link to "Full Text?" The Find It button searches for the article in our other databases.
  • Which of these are original research studies? Tip: find the METHODS section.
  • Export your article reference to RefWorks. 

SU Databases

  • Communication & Mass Media Complete - Full-text and citations for many journals and magazine articles about communication and media topics. 
  • ERIC - "Education Resources Information Center," a database with full text education articles and ERIC documents as well as Find It links to non-full text resources.
  • Humanities International Complete - database covering the Humanities with quite a few Communications journals included.
  • PsycINFO - the gold standard database for psychology and related fields.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts - articles and citations for interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology, and more.

Academic Search Ultimate  Academic Search Ultimate is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
MasterFILE Premier Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
JSTOR This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.
 

MAS Fulltext Ultra Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.

Library databases:
A-Z list and by subject

Your topic may concern subject areas such as education, health, history, etc. You may consider searching within databases that contain articles that were published in subject-specific journals.

Loading ...