When and Where Can I Access Databases?
Databases are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can use them on or off campus. If you are using them from off campus you will be prompted to put in your SU username and password (the same one you use for Gull Net, MyClasses, or an SU computer).
Getting Full Text
Some databases will have the full text of the entire article available within the database, others will only have a citation for the article. When there is only a citation available, you will see a yellow find it button
. This button will give you options for getting a full text version of the article. If we have access to it in another database it will be linked there.
Not Available in a Database?
We have two options if something is not available in full text in a database. Please be aware that with many libraries, not just our own, dealing with the coronavirus, articles may be delayed or impossible for us to get right now. That doesn't mean you shouldn't put a request in, but know that there is only so much SU Libraries can do if other libraries are not loaning materials due to staffing issues.
Check Availability in SU Catalog: If it says this then we may have a hardcopy version on the shelf in the library. Put in a request for ILL and note that we may have a print copy. Someone will attempt to track it down and scan a copy for you. Again, please remember we are also short staffed, so a response for this may still take a few days.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) means that someone in SU Libraries will do their best to locate a copy of your article from another library. Many libraries are not loaning materials right now, but if we can find a copy for you, you will get an email that a digital copy is available for you.
Article Databases: an A-Z List
You can search for databases by name or by subject.
How to Search a Database
If you're unfamiliar with how to search a database, take a look at this Zoom Video. It walks you through the basics of searching an EBSCO database. Other databases will look different, but the same principles should apply.
Newspapers
While you may be able to access many news sources online, you may also find yourself hitting a paywall pretty quickly without a subscription. By searching in a database you have more control over your keywords, viewing many things at once, and you skip right over that paywall issue.
- SU Libraries Virtual News RackThis guide is a concise collection of all of the ways one can access news resources at SU Libraries. While some of them have newspaper in the title and are easy to locate, some are trade magazines, etc. and are a little harder to track down. This puts them all in one place.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper (1980-present), the New York Times Book Review (1988-present), and the New York Times Magazine (1997-present).
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper 1987-present
Scholarly Articles
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis full-text research database covers sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.