Skip to main content

ENGL 300 Quintana Wulf

Approaches to finding articles

"Landmark" works (think western canon) will have a large amount of critical analyses written about them, while lesser-known and perhaps more contemporary works will be a bit more difficult to pin down. 

You can search for articles using WorkCat Discovery, but this tool uses a search algorithm that merely "scrapes" the surface of each database. To really dig, you need to go directly to the databases.

 

Databases for Literature 

For "borders" authors and works, I recommend searching titles, but especially author names in English lit databases.

Consider the case of Into the Beautiful North by Urrea

1. Try Into the Beautiful North in the Literature Resource Center database below.

2. Now clear the search and try Urrea.

 

Article databases

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with in-depth coverage of 2,300 of the most studied authors.

 

MLA International Bibliography

Provides indexing of over 4,000 journals and series. Also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.

 

Humanities International Complete

A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989), plus its 3-volume Additions Series (1993, 1997).

JSTOR
This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. It's not as complete as MLA (see above). JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.

1) Try a search using keywords that describe your topic.
2) You may consider checking off appropriate subject areas in the bottom section under These Discipline(s) and/or Journal(s)

3) Review article record with me.


Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
 
Loading ...

Google Scholar

1.  Into the Beautiful North        Urrea

2. Look at "Cited by" in search results. These references can often loop back to SU Libraries databases.

 

 

Journal Finder

You found an article referenced in a book or other article and need to find it: 

The Criticality of Latino/a Fiction in the Twenty-First Century
Theresa Delgadillo, American Literary History, Volume 23, Issue 3, 1 September 2011, Pages 600–624. 
 
1. Use the Journal Search tool below to search this journal by title.
2. Use the rest of the reference info to retrieve the article. 
3. If the article is not available in full text, order it through Interlibrary loan.