Skip to main content

ENGL 300 Bernhard

Quick Search for books

As we discussed earlier, books can be reference sources, but they can also contain secondary sources.To review how Quick Search works, let's now look for a secondary source, in which a researcher analyzes the event, person, or idea. Many of the books in the library are secondary sources.


 1. industrial revolution    history 

2. Limit results to BOOKS under format on the left side of your screen.

3. See a book not owned by SU? Order through ILL.

4. Cite/Export a book citation to RefWorks.

Historical Newspaper Databases

Additional Primary Source Tools

(Note that these links work uniformly both on and off-campus.  Off-campus users can use their SU username and password to access these materials.)  

Accessible Archives (Accessible Archives contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Collections include African American Newspapers, American County Histories to 1900, The Civil War, Godey’s Lady’s Book, The Liberator, The Lily, The Pennsylvania Gazette, South Carolina Newspapers, and the Virginia Gazette. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available in a user-friendly online environment.)

American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters [Archives Unbound collection](The American Indian Correspondence is a collection of almost 14,000 letters written by those who served as Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the years from 1833 to 1893.)

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism [Archives Unbound collection](Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism)

American State Papers, 1789-1838 (Primary source materialon many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838. Largely Congressional but also containing Executive Department materials, & the American State Paper volumes, issued from 1832-1861.)

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 (More than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876.)

Fordham University's Internet  History Sourcebook Project: 19th Century, 20th Century Latin America.

Historical Baltimore Sun (1837-1985)

Historical New York Times (1851-2006)

Maryland State Archives (Central depository for government records of permanent value. Records date from the founding of the colony in 1634 to the present.)

Maryland State Archives (Government Publications.)

NewsBank: Archive of Americana (This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.)

U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 (Collection of primary source material detailing all aspects of American history.)

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.