Skip to main content

ENGL 357 Bernhard: Databases

SU Databases

JSTOR
This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. It's not as complete as MLA (see above). JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.

Tip: To search for criticism on Virginia Woolf, for example, try this:
1) Click on Advanced Search
2) Type Virginia Woolf in The Exact Phrase Box (or, type the name of the specific literary work)
3) Check off Language and Literature in the bottom section under These Discipline(s) and/or Journal(s)

4) Review article record with me. Cite this Item and send to RefWorks.


Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
 

Humanities International Complete

A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.

 

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers with in-depth coverage of 2,300 of the most studied authors.

 

MLA International Bibliography

Provides indexing of over 4,000 journals and series. Also indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Includes links to full text of selected journal articles.

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989), plus its 3-volume Additions Series (1993, 1997).

Loading ...

Find an article using a citation using Citation Linker

As you discover sources that support your topic, review their sources in bibliographies, reference lists, works cited, etc. Search the journal title to see if any of our 141 databases index the journal. Then use the volume, issue, and page number to find the full text.


Please search the Citation Linker tool by journal title. Then, use the rest of the citation to track it down:

Signorotti, Elizabeth. "'A Frame Perfect and Glorious': Narrative Structure in Anne Bronte's the Tenant of Wildfell Hall." Victorian Newsletter, no. 87, 1995, pp. 20-25


1. Search the journal title. If it's not found, none of the library's databases have content from that journal.

2. In this case, Victoria Newsletter has content in just one library databases. Use the article's citation info to know which database has the article. 

3. Locate and export the article to your Refworks account. This is for practice only, so be sure to delete it when we're done.

Find additional databases by subject or name