Skip to main content

CMAT 297 Han: Databases

Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals

"Broad-to-narrow" keyword search strategy

Statement: Are efforts to raise student awareness of colleges and university sustainability programs successful? 

Keywords:     student awareness     sustainability          college campus            programs      success


1. Umbrella topic:  sustainability = 84,000+ articles

2. Truncate:     sustainab* = 100,000 articles

3. Sub-topic:   "college campus" - notice your results are more specific.

4. Sub-topic:    add "program". Limit to Scholarly.

5. Find It tool can lead you to full text. Otherwise, use InterLibrary Loan.

SU Databases

Academic Search Ultimate  Academic Search Ultimate is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
MasterFILE Premier Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
JSTOR This is a general interdisciplinary databases that covers many topics. JSTOR specializes in providing full text articles going back to the earliest issues of a journal. It has only scholarly journals, not popular magazines.
 

MAS Fulltext Ultra Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.

  • Com Abstracts - citations to articles in Communications Journals.  From this page, choose Com Abstracts in the top right-hand corner to search the database.
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete - Full-text and citations for many journals and magazine articles about communication and media topics. 
  • CQ Weekly - Congressional Quarterly Weekly -  your opportunity to find out what's going on in Congress!
  • Contemporary Women's Issues - would be good for topics relating to women.
  • ERIC - "Education Resources Information Center," a database with full text education articles and ERIC documents as well as Find It links to non-full text resources.
  • Humanities International Complete - database covering the Humanities with quite a few Communications journals included.
  • PsycINFO - the gold standard database for psychology and related fields.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts - articles and citations for interdisciplinary fields such as addiction studies, anthropology, corrections, economics, gender studies, gerontology, minority studies, political sciences, psychology, sociology, and more.

Loading ...

Find an article using a citation using Citation Linker

As you discover sources that support your topic, review their sources in bibliographies, reference lists, works cited, etc. Search the journal title to see if any of our 141 databases index the journal. Then use the volume, issue, and page number to find the full text.

 

Try this: Search the Journal Title below using the Citation Linker tool. Use the rest of the citation to find the article.

Haas, C., & Ashman, G. (2014). Kindergarten children's introduction to sustainability through transformative, experiential nature play. Australasian Journal of Early Childhood, 39(2), 21-29.

 

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List