Study Tips and Tools
- Best and Worst Study Tips for Organic ChemistryFrom the Savvy Pre-Med blog.
- Master Organic ChemistryFree study materials and fact sheets. This web resource also includes quizzes, reactions, and over 400 blog posts to guide you through introductory Organic Chemistry, organized by subject.
- AK Lectures - Organic ChemistryShort, easy to understand lectures from chemists and educators. Organic chemistry videos include Atomic Orbitals and Bonding, Alkanes and Hybridization, Alkenes and Alkynes, Stereochemistry and Enantiomers,
Alcohols, Chemical Equilibrium and Reaction Rates, Addition Reactions, Radical Reactions, Analytical Techniques and Spectroscopy, and more.
iOS Apps
- Awesome Organic Chemistry Flashcards
Test your knowledge with this organic chemistry flashcards quiz study aid. Organic chemistry is largely about memorization and this multiple choice quiz app will help you memorize topics quickly. - ReactionFlash
The free ReactionFlash app is a great way to learn named reactions, understand their mechanisms and view examples published in peer-reviewed literature or patents.The app covers over 1100 named chemistry reactions. - Organic Nomenclature
Includes naming lessons and quizzes covering Alkanes, Cycloalkanes, Alcohols, Aromatics, Ketones, and more. - KingDraw: Chemistry Station
KingDraw App is a chemical drawing editor that allows users to sketch molecules and reactions as well as organic chemistry objects and pathways.
Books on Reserve
The following titles are on reserve at the library service desk for organic chemistry. Every chapter in Organic Chemistry I&II has practice problems. The Preparing for Your ACS Examination in Organic Chemistry study guide also has online versions. Check these books out with your Gull Card for 2-hour use within the GAC. Scanners are available on the first floor.
Organic Chemistry I by Publication Date: 2018- Organic Chemistry II by Publication Date: 2017
Preparing for Your ACS Examination in Organic ChemistryPublication Date: 2019-12-01First and second editions. Print and ebook options.
Tools for Drawing Chemical Structures
- SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new windowRegister for an account and use SciFinder to draw and download chemical structures.You can also use this database to search for articles.
- ChemSketch FreewareTop software download for drawing chemical structures. Available for free for academic and educational use. Software only available on Windows.
- PubChem SketcherSimple sketcher from the National Library of Medicine.
- ChemSpiderFrom the Royal Society of Chemistry. Draw and search chemical structure.
- ChemDrawOnline "Microsoft Paint"-like tool. Includes some pre-loaded molecules such as RNA and amino acids.
- Biovia DrawFree software download for students after you register for an account.
You can also use non-chemistry tools for rough mockups, such as Microsoft Word or Adobe Illustrator. There are other more advanced drawing software online, often requiring a paid license.
Library Research Databases
Doing a research project or curious to learn more about organic chemistry? Check out these library databases to find peer-reviewed articles and current research.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowFull-text access provided to over 80 chemistry magazines and journals with an archive dating back to 1879.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect's Freedom Collection includes extensive full-text journal coverage of the physical and biological sciences, as well as some coverage of the social sciences and humanities.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowEnables users to search current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from thousands of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides cited reference searching, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all relevant information.
- C&EN Global Enterprise This link opens in a new windowC&EN Global Enterprise includes the full-text of Chemical & Engineering News, along with enhanced content covering science and technology, business and industry, and government and policy. Coverage starts from 1923 to present.
Helpful Reference and Readings
- Organic Chemistry Laboratory Techniques byPublication Date: 2016Skim through this open textbook to find information about your organic chemistry labs. Includes procedures on the main organic lab techniques, as well as general concepts on how to set up and heat apparatuses. All procedures are accompanied by step-by-step pictures and graphics.
The Organic Chem Lab Survival Manual by Call Number: QD261 .Z83 2020ISBN: 9781119608554Publication Date: 2020-02-05
Organic Chemistry As a Second Language by Call Number: QD256 .K541452 2020ISBN: 9781119493914Publication Date: 2019-11-19
Thinking Through Organic Chemistry by Call Number: QD256 .T456 2023ISBN: 9781793533258Publication Date: 2023-01-03
Android Apps
- Organic Chemistry Flashcards
Test your knowledge with this organic chemistry flashcards quiz study aid. Organic chemistry is largely about memorization and this multiple choice quiz app will help you memorize topics quickly. - ReactionFlashThe free ReactionFlash app is a great way to learn named reactions, understand their mechanisms and view examples published in peer-reviewed literature or patents.The app covers over 1100 named chemistry reactions.
- Organic Chemistry Practice
171 Organic Chemistry practice tests, interactive flashcards, organic chemistry question of the day for daily practice. - KingDraw: Chemistry StationKingDraw App is a chemical drawing editor that allows users to sketch molecules and reactions as well as organic chemistry objects and pathways.
