• The Atlantic 
• The Economist

• Immigration and Child Welfare Laws and Policies - from Child Welfare Information Gateway (U.S. DHHS)
• Save the Children

• Delivering for Afghanistan’s children -- from UNICEF

• Understanding Refugee Trauma: For Child Welfare -from the National Child Traumatic Stress Network

•  

• Social Policy Evaluation: An Example from Drinking Age Legislation - Univ. of Michigan
• Health Information Portability and Accountability Act of 1996: An Analysis of its Implication Using an Adapted Model by Jose Carbajal, University of Texas at Arlington - an article from Perspectives on Social Work
• FAQ:DOMA from GLAAD
• From Foster Care to College
• Voices From Both Sides of the Medical Marijuana Debate

Public Opinion Surveys 

• Cornell University maintains a list of public opinion surveys.  Many of the poll organizations can be accessed through this website. 

Pew Research Center 

• Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan think-tank that conducts research and public opinion polling on attitudes and trends in the U.S. and the world. 

Gallup Polls 

• Gallup has conducted opinion polls about what people think and feel for over 75 years.  Polls range from the economy, wellbeing, and politics.

• Congressional Research Service Reports for   the People - Open CRS The CRS Reports deals with public interest or that are the focus of proposed legislation. 
• THOMAS - Legislative information from Library of Congress
• Maryland General Assembly
•  National Journal - "National Journal is regarded as the most credible and influential publication inside the Beltway, and has been Washington’s premier source of nonpartisan insight on politics and policy for more than four decades."
• GPO Digital Systems ('Green Book') -"GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government."  Check out Background Material and Data on Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means (Green Book) 
•  How Our Laws Are Made - a helpful infographic
• National Criminal JusticeReference Service
• PolicyArchive​ -- PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It was a project created by the Center for Governmental Studies and the Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis Library. This is a "digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, efficiency, and economy of modern Internet technology to collect and disseminate summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research."

Here's a list of resources that include statistics, poll, and other important information that you will find very helpful for your policy papers.

• United States Senate
• United States House of Representatives 
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - The CDC website provides a wealth of data on health, injuries, morbidity, and morality. Annually, the CDC publishes the National Health Report, which tracks health and epidemiology in the U.S.
• Congress.gov - Find Bills by Subject and Policy Area
• Government Accountability Office (GAO) - The GAO serves as the investigative arm for members of Congress, who request information or investigation on policies, programs, or procedures that fall under the domain of the government. 
• Congressional Budget Office (CBO) -Serving the U.S. Congress, the CBO is responsible for providing objective and nonpartisan analysis of fiscal and budgetary issues to assist legislators in making decisions on programs funded by the federal budget. Some information includes the economic forecasts, productivity data, and budget projections.  There are also special collections focused on topics such as Social Security, immigration, and social services.
• THOMAS - is the official legislative tracking website for the federal government and is run by the Library of Congress. THOMAS is a wealth of information including searching for public laws, bills introduced to Congress, as well as the background information and history of all bills and laws introduced and passed by Congress.
• Conference of State Legislatures (www.ncsl.org/)
• The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that produces research and technical reports on state issues.​​​​​​
• Brookings Institute
• RAND Corporation
• The Commonwealth Fund
• Population Reference Bureau
• Center on Budget & Policy Priorities
• Southern Poverty Law Center
• Kaiser Family Foundation
• Mathematica Policy Research
• Prison Policy Initiative
• Migration Policy Institute 
• Center for the Study of Social Policy
• RAND Research - "RAND research is conducted by three divisions that address social and economic policy issues, four federally funded research and development centers (FFRDCs), and by RAND's wholly owned subsidiaries, RAND Europe and RAND Australia."
•  

• Debate.org
• All Sides - "information and ideas from all sides of the political spectrum so they can better understand the world — and each other. Our balanced news coverage, media bias ratings, civil dialogue opportunities, and technology platform are available for everyone and can be integrated by schools, nonprofits, media companies, and more."
• Britannica ProCon.org -- from the Britannica group; "...we serve as a non-biased information source for our users. We present sourced pros and cons of debatable issues, as well as a host of reference information relevant to those issues, thoroughly researched and compiled by our research staff and editors."
• University of Virginia: Miller Center National Discussion & Debate Series - A bit dated; latest entry is from 2012. But the other sections might be informative

• CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online - "is the world’s largest online resource of documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies." 
• Congressional Research Service (CRS) - CRS serves as the policy research service for Congress and produces in-depth reports on legislative concerns.  The reports are not publicly disseminated and developed confidentially for legislators, but you can request a copy through members of Congress and it is legal for them to distribute reports to constituents upon request. OpenCRS provides many of the reports that are in the public domain.  (http://opencrs.com/)
• Policy Archive - 
• Urban Institute: Social and Economic Policy Research
• Annenberg Public Policy Center
• Social Work Policy Institute
• Health Policy Brief - Health Policy Briefs examine complex questions currently being debated in health policy and health services research. The health policy briefs provide a clear, comprehensive, and impartial overview that anyone can use to quickly get up to speed.

• The Maryland Public Policy Institute - Founded in 2001, the Maryland Public Policy Institute is a nonpartisan public policy research and education organization that focuses on state policy issues.
• General Assembly of Maryland 
• Maryland State Ethics Commission -
• Maryland Department of Human Services

• State of Delaware - Searchable fields - Bill Type, Bill Number and Full text search
• Virginia's Legislative Information System - check out Bills & Resolutions: Status of individual bills and related information
• Pennsylvania Legislature -- searchable fields
• New Jersey Bills - browseable as well as searchable fields

• American Policy Directory - from Univ. of Oregon Libraries;  comprehensive directory with links on analysis and advocacy from all perspectives on US national public policy 

• Think Tank Search - from Harvard Kennedy School- Think Tank Search searches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, non-governmental organizations, and businesses. Inclusion is based upon the relevancy of subject area to HKS coursework and scholarship, the availability of the think tank’s research in full-text on the website, and the think tank’s reputation and influence upon policy making. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.

• Statistical Abstract of the United States - Published annually by the U.S. Census Bureau since 1978, this resource is a compilation of statistical information from the government and private sources.
• The U.S. Census Bureau - 
• Statista - Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources and makes it available on four platforms: German, English, French and Spanish." Searchable; limit to articles, briefs, etc.
• World Development Indicators (World Bank)