Skip to main content

Salisbury School Research Guide: SAILOR & Eastern Shore Library Databases

Public access to article databases

While you can search SU Libraries' databases while on campus, you can use SAILOR and Eastern Shore Library databases from anywhere as long as you or your parents have a Maryland public library card.

SAILOR Databases

Maryland’s public libraries make a shared collection of Internet-based databases available through Sailor to ensure equal access to online research databases for all Maryland residents across the state. While you can search SU Libraries' databases while on campus, you can use SAILOR and Eastern Shore Library databases from anywhere as long as you or your parents have a Maryland public library card.

EBSCO - Funk & Wagnalls New EncyclopediaFunk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia Useful to both adults and students, this encyclopedia provides reliable information on a wide variety of topics.

EBSCO - MasterFILE PremiereMasterFILE Premiere Search a wide variety of journal articles, magazine articles, primary source documents, reference book entries and images.

EBSCO - Student Research CenterStudent Research Center Search a wide variety of information in magazines, reference books, photos, flags, and country reports among other sources. For Middle and High School students.

EBSCO - Science Reference CenterScience Reference Center Search science oriented reference sources, science journals, biographies, and science related animations, videos, and images.

EBSCO - Auto Repair Reference CenterAuto Repair Reference Center Find step-by-step auto repair procedures written specifically for the Do-It-Yourselfer, but comprehensive enough for professional technicians.

Business Source PremierBusiness Source Premier Search business related newspapers and journals. Non-journal content includes company profiles, country reports, industry reports, market research reports, and SWOT analyses.

Regional Business NewsRegional Business News Search articles from Crain Communications, Business Philadelphia, Daily Record (Baltimore Edition), New York Observer and Washington Times.

HeritageQuest OnlineHeritageQuest Online Trace your family history and/or American cultural history.

EBSCO - History Reference CenterHistory Reference Center Search History oriented reference books, encyclopedias, history journals, documents, biographies, images, videos and maps.

EBSCO - MAS Ultra - School EditionMAS Ultra - School Edition Magazine Articles Summaries Ultra guides high school students to numerous full text research sources, as well as health and personal interest topics.

Eastern Shore Library Databases

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)Search or browse through more than 450,000 full-text biographies in over thirty categories, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.

Reference USAThe premier source of business and residential information for reference and research.  Used by entrepreneurs, businesses, students, job-seekers or anyone wanting access to information on tens of millions of businesses and hundreds of millions of consumers in an easy to search format.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.  This source provides full text for all articles.

History Reference Center (EBSCO)History Reference Center is the world's most extensive full-text history reference database, featuring full text for more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.

NewsBank Local Newspapers of DelmarvaSearch full-text current and archived local and state articles on issues, events, people, government and more including the Bay Times (8/2/06-Current),  The Capital (1/1/02-Current), Dorchester Star (6/30/06-Current), Kent County News (11/30/06-Current),  Record Observer (8/4/06-Current) ,  Star Democrat (11/16/05-Current),  Sunday Star (11/13/05-Current), and the Times Record (8/2/06-Current).

Salisbury Daily TimesSearch full-text current and archived issues of the Salisbury Daily Times (8/2001-present).