Skip to main content

Salisbury School Research Guide: SU Databases

In the research process: ARTICLES

1. Explore topic context & primary sources (the open web)
2. Learn the background (library catalog: books)
3. Discover scholarly conversations (multi-subject databases: journal articles)
4. Support your argument (source citation)
5. Rinse, repeat; drafts & revisions (research librarians, writing center)

Database searching might be more specific; sources speak to argument "parts"

"Video games do not harm kids. In fact, gaming has been used to promote student learning in high schools."
 
1. In Academic Search Complete:   video games = 291,497

2. Add:    student learning = 765

3. Narrow further by adding:    high school = 62

4. Decide whether or not to limit results by scholarly journals.

Differences betwen scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals.

5. Search your own topic. Find a potentially useful article, and add the citation to Easybib.


General Databases:

Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
 
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 

MAS Full Text Ultra - Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. 

 

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals