Skip to main content

HIST 215 French: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

 

             

Newspaper articles from SU Libraries' historical newspaper databases. These databases contain scanned copies of articles that were written by reporters and printed in paper newspapers as far back as the late 1600s.

Did your person/group make national headlines for creating an important work or inspiring an important event? If it was noteworthy, it was probably reported!

Example

Online collections from government or non-profit organizations that seek to advocate awareness/education. The types of sources could be anything, ranging from digitized collections containing books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America during the last two or three hundred years.

Example of a .org non-profit organization

Example of a .gov museum, library, or other kind of official federal government collection

Example of a .md state archive collection

Books and ebooks can also contain copies of original works. A bit of a long-shot for our library collection, but if your person or group is historically "significant" they produced significant materials like letters, diaries, journals, photos, speeches, political documents, or creative works. 

Example

The tools below are library databases with the exception of Chronicling America, an LOC database.

1. Please search Audre Lorde in Historical New York Times with me.

2. Lorde passed away in 1992. Use the slider tool to limit date range.

3. Now Sort by Date: oldest to newest.

4. Browse result list noting chronology.

5. Full text, Print, Email.

1. Search Audre Lorde

2. Limit results to BOOKS under format on the left side of your screen.

3. See: Zami, a new spelling of my name‚Äč

4. Copy the call number and use tool Call Number Locator tool.

5. Go to page 2 of results; note need to request through Interlibrary Loan.

 

Call Number Locator

Use the call number of the item that you found in the library catalog to see where it lives in the library.

Loading ...