Skip to main content

CMAT 101 DeWitt: Databases

+In the research process: ARTICLES

1. Explore  (casual web searching)
2. Background (library catalog: books)

3. Scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
4. Support arguments (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & Writing Center)

    Multi-subject Databases

    1. Go back to the library catalog. 
    2. Under Format, put a checkmark in the Articles box.
    3. Add keywords to make your search more specific: college writing centers and peer tutoring
    4. Adjusting keywords requires you to check Articles under Format each time.
    5. In your results list, click the View Now link. Does it take you to Full Text?
     

    Academic Search Complete - Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

    JSTOR - Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
     
    MAS Fulltext Ultra - Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. 
     
    MasterFILE Premier - Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 

    Newspapers: Current & Historical

    Current news databases:

    Indexes and provides access to online full text for four newspapers: Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post.         

     

    Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for The Sun, Baltimore (Baltimore Sun) newspaper           

     

    Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Christian Science Monitor newspaper

     

    Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the New York Times newspaper, the New York Times Book Review, and the New York Times Magazine.

     

     
    Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case  ...

     

    Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Wall Street Journal newspaper         

     

    Indexes, abstracts, and provides online full text for the Washington Post newspaper         

    Historical news databases:

    This database provides full-text and full-image articles from the Baltimore Sun, the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.         
     
    Includes complete issues of The Baltimore Sun,cover to cover from 1837 to 1985. Search by keyword, more than 20 article types, date ranges, specific dates, author, and more. View news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more for added context.
    This family of historical collections contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.

     

    Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page
        

    Databases by Subject or by Name

    Identifying Primary Vs. Secondary Research Articles

    Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals

    SFX

    Google Scholar