Library Guides: ART 261: Beginning Sculpture: Find Articles

Why use articles?

Why use articles for research?

For very recent, current information
Cover very specific subjects
Popular topics
Alternative viewpoints
Reports on scholarly research

Popular Magazines vs. Scholarly Journals

Popular Magazines Vs. Scholarly Journals

Database searching

Now is the time to be more specific with your searching. Articles tend to cover very specific or niche topics, and are also published more quickly than books, meaning the information is typically more current than the general information you can gather from books.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
Art and Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books & other published sources from arount the world. This database includes data from American Humanities Index & Humanities International Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of these newspapers: The Baltimore Sun, Christian Science Monitor, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal.

Art Journals & Magazines in Print

African Arts
American Craft
Aperture
Architectural Record
Art Bulletin
Art History
Art Journal
ARTnews
Artforum International
Bookforum
Fine Woodworking
Glass - NY
Journal of Glass Studies
Master Drawings
Metropolitan Museum Of Art Bulletin
New Glass Review
October
Photobook Review
Representations
Sculpture
Sculpture Review
Shutterbug (in Magazines)
Studio Potter

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Databases A-Z List