Skip to main content

CMAT 490 DeWitt & Horikami: Find Articles

Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals

Database searching

Keyowrds:     promote         sustainability          campus            programs

Open Academic Search Complete database.

1. sustainability = 58,000 articles

2. sustainab* = 100,000 articles

3. add "college campus" - notice your results are more specific.

4. add "promote". Limit to Scholarly.

5. Cite/export article to Easybib

6. Find It: Connecting non-full text with full text availability (or InterLibrary Loan)


 
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
JSTOR - Tip: enclose keyword phrases within quotation marks for precise searching. For example: "american architecture" "sustainable home".
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
 
Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. 
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.

Databases by Subject or by Name

Challenge 1: Search a Subject-specific Database

Explore the database Subject List on the right side of you screen.

Open the Subject Database that your topic relates to most closely. For example: Education --> ERIC database

  • Locate one scholarly article that potentially will be useful. 
  • Cite/export to Easybib.

Challenge 2: Find an article using a citation

You came across a citation to an awesome scholarly article (below). Use this tool to locate the full text version of the article. 

Find Journals

Search Type: