Library databases are searchable collections of article records or full text articles on a variety of topics.
The library pays money to subscribe to these databases and most of the articles found in them are not available for free on the internet.
Some of these articles may be found through doing a Google search, but commonly there will be a monetary cost to get them. The full text articles found in our databases are free to library users and to faculty, students & staff from off campus.
Another advantage of using library databases is that it is often much easier to find scholarly articles in the library databases than searching for them on the web. There are many good sources found on the web, but there is also a lot of junk! If you use unreliable sources for your papers your grades will likely suffer!
So searching library databases isn’t the same as searching the web for articles on your topic.
The databases listed to the right are not necessarily foreign language databases, but they all do contain foreign language articles. Some of these databases do a better job than others, depending upon the language or topic, so it is useful to sample different databases.
WHAT DOES THAT CUTE LITTLE FIND IT BUTTON DO, ANYWAY?
It's a bit like magic, really. The Find It button does three things:
1) Checks our databases to see if the document you want is available full-text in another of our databases. If so, it links you to it!
2) Links you to the library catalog when we have the item you want in print or microform.
3) Links you to ILLiad (interlibrary loan) so you can borrow the item from another library if we don't have access electronically or in print listed in our SU Catalog
The Find It button is YOUR FRIEND!!!