Skip to main content

Stephen Decatur High School Research Guide: Find articles

In the research process: ARTICLES

1. Explore  (web)
2. Background (library catalog: books)

3. Scholarly conversations (library databases: articles)
4. Support arguments (source citation)
5. Drafts & revisions (librarians & Writing Center)

    Searching Research Databases

    "Video games do not harm kids. In fact, gaming has been used to promote student learning in high schools."
     
    1. In Academic Search Complete:   video games = 291,497

    2. Add:    student learning = 765

    3. Narrow further by adding:    high school = 62

    4. Decide whether or not to limit results by scholarly journals.

    Differences betwen scholarly journals and other kinds of periodicals.

    5. Search your own topic. Find a potentially useful article, and add the citation to Easybib.


    General Databases:

    Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
     
    Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 

     

    Business-related Databases (See Databases by Subject)

    ABI Inform - Great for looking up news and research about specific brands and advertising.Provides indexing and abstracting for 1000 periodicals with full text for more than 600 publications   

    Business Source Premier - Also great for looking up news and research about specific brands and advertising.
    Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 4100 periodicals and offers full text for more than 3000 journals.

    Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

    Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals