Library Guides: Salisbury Americorps Youth Civics Council: SU Article Databases

What are databases?

Think of library databases as portals to information & resources. This information often comes in the form of academic (or "scholarly") articles where the authors use research to support their argument, but databases can also include several other types of resources, such as: statistics, reports, infographics (like charts or graphs), films, documentaries, and eBooks.

Because they are available through annual subscriptions, most library databases (and the content within them) are only available to members of that library's immediate community.

Database searching

Keywords: college recycling program

1. college = 1 million articles. Let's add keywords to narrow results down.

2. add "recycling" - notice your results are more specific.

3. add "program". Checkmark "Full Text" box on the left side of your screen.

List of Recommended Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers access to an unprecedented collection of resources including journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos. Many are peer-reviewed and full-text. Subjects range from astronomy to zoology.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews.
MAS Fulltext Ultra This link opens in a new window
Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.
Social Sciences Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
LGBTQ+ Source is the definitive database for LGBTQ+ studies. It provides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus containing thousands of terms.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years; eBooks; ArtStor images; and primary sources. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

JSTOR Tip: enclose keyword phrases within quotation marks for precise searching. For example: "american architecture" "sustainable home".

More Databases: By Subject and A-Z List

Databases by Subject

Databases A-Z List

Saving articles for later

1. Email the article to yourself

Databases often provide this option when viewing an article.
Check to make sure the full-text PDF was included in the email!

2. Save the article to a flash drive

Note about printing: If you choose to print in the library, black/white prints cost .10/ single-sided page (.20 for double-sided). Use the AC 146 printer, and pick up your prints (and pay) at the Circulation Desk. Credit or debit card transactions have a $5 minimum.