Skip to main content

Research Support Guide: SU Databases

Outward differences between popular magazines and scholarly journals

Database searching

Keywords:  college      recycling      programs

1. college = 1 million articles. Let's add keywords to narrow results down.

2. add "recycling" - notice your results are more specific.

3. add "promote". Checkmark "Full Text" box on the left side of your screen.

 


 
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. 
 
Provides abstracts and indexing for 2,650 general periodicals. Full text of articles for nearly 2,000 periodicals, and 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews. 
 
JSTOR - Tip: enclose keyword phrases within quotation marks for precise searching. For example: "american architecture" "sustainable home".
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. Coverage spans the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
 
Full-text for over 500 popular general interest and current events publications, as well as 253 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags. 
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 520 publications with some links to full-text in other EBSCO databases.

Article Databases: By Subject and A-Z List