Print Reference Materials
Reference materials can be great places to go for basic information about your topic. Here are some items available at Library that might be useful for your assignment. Note that these items must be used in the library only.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music by Call Number: Stacks Reference ML100 .G16 1998 v.1-10ISBN: 9780824060350Publication Date: 1997-08-01The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is available in print and online. (Link to online version to the right.)
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: REF ML100 .H37 2003ISBN: 0674011635Publication Date: 2003-11-28
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Call Number: REF ML102.I5 N48 1985 v.1-3ISBN: 9780943818054Publication Date: 1985-01-02A newer edition of this set has been added to Grove Music Online. It is the most up to date version, but this version is still available in our reference collection for those who prefer print.
E-Book Search
Search directly for eBooks, whether you are on campus or off!
A Note About JSTOR eBooks
In the event that you find a book in JSTOR that looks like we have access, but when you actually click on the JSTOR link it says we don't, do not despair! In most cases, those books can be purchased quickly.
Email Nicole Kulp with a screenshot of the book you want to access.
Books Only
Call Number Locator Map
Use this to find which shelf your book is on.
Online Reference Materials
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new windowThe Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Includes more than 1200 essays, entries by more than 700 expert contributors, and hundreds of audio examples focused on world music.
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowThis database is part of the Music Online collection including streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Music Online allows users to cross search all of the Alexander Street Press music products that your institution subscribes to. Includes African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library, and The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online.
- Classical Music Reference Library This link opens in a new windowBrings together more than 17,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music in electronic form.